A complete newbie guide for starting with online poker. [Let make it together]

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

The purpose of this thread is to create an exhaustive guide for starting with online poker. I am not talking about gameplay or poker skills. The questions under consideration are account opening, choosing right site to play, depositing cash and withdrawal.

So here are some question which every newbie wants to know. Any help on answering this will be appreciated.

1) Which site is the best to start with?
      I am thinking to start with pokerstars. They have pretty good review.

2) I need complete clarification on bonus option. Like pokerstars have bonus for upto $600 deposite. What does it means and what are the limitations of this offer?
      Like I want to know if I deposit $600 in my pokerstars account I will get a bonus of $600. So my account balance will be $1200. Can I withdraw all of them?

3) About bank account and funding.
      I have seen the sticky thread about moneybookers and neteller. But I want to know what are the best indian bank options.
      I have ICICI account and SBI account. Also have ICICI credit card.

4) Withdrawal options? Is there any minimum withdrawal limit? How much time does it takes to reach your bank account?

I request online poker veterans here to answer my queries. Let make this thread valuable for newbies like me.

Rajat Agarwal
      Keymaster

Hi Arpit. Let me try adding my insights to your queries.

1. PokerStars is by Far the biggest and best. The variety of choices and stakes is unparalleled and you can be sure of finding a game of your liking anytime. But note that the fields are also tougher.

On the other hand networks like 888 (Pacific) and William Hill (ipoker) have softer fields though less choices. Ideally its just a matter of where you feel you can perform best and win BIG that counts.