GetMega - Sticky

2015 ACOP: Connor Drinan Continues To Lead Main Event Final Table; Day 2 Of High Roller & Event 15 NLH To Play Out Today

Conor Drinan
  • Profile picture
  • PG News November 14, 2015
  • 8 mins Read

The action is now building up to the thrilling finale with a final table set at the 2015 Asian Championship of Poker (ACOP) Main Event. Connor Drinan, who had taken the lead on Day 3, consolidated it further and will now lead the final 7 with 1,755,000. The Main Event will crown its champion today, with the series finally ending tomorrow after the conclusion of Event 13 – Super High Roller, which plays out its Day 2 today and Event 15 – HK $9000 NLH that begins today. Main Event Day 4 Connor Drinan increased his chip advantage to 1,755,000, by the end of Day 4, with the next player Chinese Nan Tu, trailing far behind with 1,370,000 in 2nd place. The day started with 23 players and today, the final 7 will battle it out for the title and the prize money of HK $5.85 Million. Hopes were shattered as many high profile pros fell by the wayside and these included Former Macau Poker Cup Red Dragon winner Tom Alner (19th), Team PokerStars Online’s Mikhail Shalamov (18th), APPT Macau champion Tony Cheng (17th), Australian pro Matthew Wakeman (16th), 2014 ACOP Super High Roller champion Steve O’Dwyer(15th) and former WSOP Main Event final tablist Russell Thomas (12th). An elimination that was tragic saw KC Wong lose his chance to be leader of the Asia Player of the Year (POY) rankings, when he busted at 11th place, with his ace king overcome by an opponent’s pocket tens. Had Wong made just 10thplace, he would have won the POY race. After the elimination of Patrick Mahoney in 10th place, the players moved to a specially made ACOP final table. However, it took quite a few hours more for the official seven to be set, after Guoliang Wei and Sergey Lebedevbusted in 9th and 8th places, respectively. Final Table Chip Counts Name Chips 1. Connor Drinan 1,755,000 2. Nan Tu 1,370,000 3. Thomas Ward 1,335,000 4. Zhou Zhou 1,210,000 5. Qi Luo 980,000 6. Xixiang Luo 780,000 7. Hsien Kui Yang 370,000 Event 13 – HK $500,000 Super High Roller The Super High Roller received 32 entries plus rebuys on its first day yesterday, but rebuys will be allowed for an hour into Day 2 today, so the final entry-pool will be know later. It took 7 levels of play for 25 survivors to remain for Day 2 and leading them will be Vladimir Troyanovskiy with 1,601,000. ACOP High Roller champ Phanlert Sukonthachartnant (1,476,500) and last year’s ACOP Super High Roller winnerSteve O’Dwyer (1,393,000) were the other two largest stacks of the day. The Main Event final table will begin at 2pm local time today, while Day 2 of the Super High Roller Event will start at 2:30pm local time. Today will also mark the beginning of Event 15 – HK $9000 NLH. PokerGuru will be back with all the updates from the above events, so stay with us. Related Articles: 1. 2015 ACOP Main Event: Connor Drinan Leads On Day 3, Celina Lin Wins Ronaldo Charity Event & HK $500K Super High Roller To Start Today 2. 2015 ACOP: Yuguang Li Tops Day 2 of Main Event, Team India Out of Contention 3. 2015 ACOP: Yasuhiro Ojiri Leads Main Event Day 1B, Aditya Agarwal Makes Day 2 & Ronaldo Busts After Making A Splash 4. 2015 ACOP: Kunal Patni & Shashank Rathi Make Day 2 in Main Event, Phanlert Sukonthachartnant Wins High Roller 5. 2015 ACOP: Dong Guo Wins Warm-up; Thrilling Action Expected At Main Event With Ronaldo, Aditya Agarwal & Other Top Pros Joining The Action

0 0 votes
Article Rating
  • Categories
  • Keywords
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms