Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

WSOP 2021: Team India’s WSOP Run Comes to an End With Abhinav Iyer’s ITM Finish in Event #88: $5K 8-Handed NLHE

  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee Khasnabis November 23, 2021
  • 4 Minutes Read

The 2021 World Series of Poker (WSOP) is just a day away from the finish line. Still, Team India’s journey in this mega series ended on Monday with India’s lone solo bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer’s ITM finish in Event #88: $5,000 8-Handed No-Limit Hold’em. Iyer finished 37th for $12,510 (~₹9.31 Lakhs), picking up his seventh cash at the series.

Even though the Indian contingent could not bring back a WSOP gold bracelet this year, there were many memorable moments and near finishes. All of this we will recap in our 2021 WSOP report card, so keep an eye out for it!

Ben Yu (2,515,000) headlines the 30 players advancing to Day 2 in Event #88 and is looking to capture his fifth gold bracelet – his second at the series!

The only other bracelet event left to crown a champion is Event #87: $100,000 High Roller No-Limit Hold’em. Highroller specialist Michael Addamo is in good shape to extend his hot run, having bagged an enormous 19,620,000 stack heading into the final day, with only five players in contention.


Josh Arieh Wins 2021 WSOP Player of the Year Title

With just a day left for the 2021 WSOP to wrap up proceedings, PocketFives’ Josh Arieh has been announced as the 2021 WSOP Player of the Year. The four-time bracelet winner faced tough competition from Phil Hellmuth. In the end, Arieh topped the standings with 4,194.59 points, while Hellmuth stood second with 3,664.09 points, and GGPoker Ambassador Daniel Negreanu placed third with 3,531.03 points.

Josh Arieh
Josh Arieh


Event #88: $5,000 8-Handed No-Limit Hold’em – Day 1

Day 1 of Event #88: $5,000 8-Handed No-Limit Hold’em attracted 531 entries, generating a $2,449,000 prize pool. After 22 levels of play, 30 players survived the day’s onslaught.

Four-time bracelet winner Ben Yu bagged the end-of-day chip lead with a stack of 2,515,000. Yu had won his fourth bracelet this year in Event #56: $10,000 6-Handed NLHE Championship and will be chasing his career-fifth bracelet on Day 2.

Ben Yu
Ben Yu


Shaun Deeb (1,680,000), PokerStars Ambassador Ramon Colillas (1,500,000), Justin Liberto (1,285,000), Clayton Maguire (1,100,000), Alexandre Reard (1,048,000), GGPoker Team pro Felipe Ramos (800,000) and Winamax Team pro Joao Vieira (600,000) are some other notables still in contention.


Abhinav Iyer Wraps Up Team India’s 2021 WSOP Run With 37th Place Finish

Young Gun Abhinav Iyer was hands down the most consistent Indian at the 2021 WSOP. The poker pro from Chennai placed 37th for $12,510 (~₹9.31 Lakhs), taking his total cashes tally to seven at the series.

Abhinav Iyer
Abhinav Iyer


While Aditya Agarwal’s runner-up finish in Event #76: $10,000 Super Turbo Bounty for $286,705 (~₹2.13 Crores) was the highest by an Indian this year, Iyer made the most ITM finishes at the series, collectively earning $161,940 (~₹1.20 Crores). His highest score was in the WSOP Main Event, where he finished 60th for $1,13,800 (~₹84.64 Lakhs).

The top 80 players were assured payouts, and quite a few poker heavyweights were seen crossing the finish line but not making it to Day 2. Justin Lapka (36th for $12,510), Winamax Team Pro Romain Lewis (55th for $10,076), Anuj Agarwal (60th for $8,816), Phil Hellmuth (62nd for $8,816), and Martin Jacobson (72nd for $8,061) were some prominent names who finished in the money.

The final day of the $5K 8-Handed NLHE will commence on Tuesday, November 23, at 2 PM (local time).

Top 10 Chip Counts at the End of Day 1

1. Ben Yu – 2,515,000

2. Uri Reichenstein – 2,070,000

3. George Wolff – 1,770,000

4. Shaun Deeb – 1,680,000

5. Matyas Kende – 1,635,000

6. Ramon Colillas – 1,500,000

7. Danny Wong – 1,330,000

8. Justin Liberto – 1,285,000

9. Clayton Maguire – 1,100,000

10. Alexandre Reard – 1,048,000


Event #87: $100,000 High Roller No-Limit Hold’em – Day 2

Australia’s Michael Addamo is hunting his fifth Highroller title of the year in Event #87: $100,000 High Roller No-Limit Hold’em. The three-time bracelet winner chip leads the five-player field to the final day with a commanding stack of 19,620,000.

Michael Addamo
Michael Addamo


Henrik Hecklen (5,445,000), Sam Soverel (5,165,000), Kevin Rabichow (4,250,000), and Sean Perry (3,920,000) are others in contention to upturn the Australian pro’s plans.

The event awarded payouts to only the top 10 runners. Sorel Mizzi (6th for $331,806), PokerStars Ambassador Sam Grafton (7th for $263,227), Mikita Badziakouski (8th for $217,274), Bill Klein (9th for $186,909), and GGPoker Ambassador Fedor Holz (10th for $167,869) were the players who finished in the money.

Final Day Chip Counts

1. Michael Addamo – 19,620,000

2. Henrik Hecklen – 5,445,000

3. Sam Soverel – 5,165,000

4. Kevin Rabichow – 4,250,000

5. Sean Perry – 3,920,000


Content & Images Courtesy: PokerNews, WSOP & PokerGO

Keep following PokerGuru for all the latest updates from WSOP 2021!

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Players

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms