Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

2022 PGT Stairway to Millions: Michael Wang Clinches Event #5: $1,640 NLHE Title For $22,986

Michael Wang
  • Naman Sharma September 14, 2022
  • 5 Minutes Read

Michael Wang (cover image) paved his way past a 73-entry field to win Event #5: $1,640 NLHE at the 2022 Stairway To Millions, hosted at The Venetian Resort Las Vegas, clinching the title and $22,986 top prize. He booked a seat into Event #8 worth $5,350. Mikael Andersen took home $14,355 in second place.

Michael Wang
Michael Wang


A Stairway to Million reg, Wang had cashed three times in the inaugural edition of the series hosted in January, including winning Event #5: $15,000 NLHE for $219,300. His most notable score of $541,604 came just two months back when he championed the 2022 WSOP $5,000 NLHE event. He has posted seven FT finishes this year, including three title finishes, pushing his total live earnings to $4,463,404.

The series perk allowed players, including Jim Agate, Philip Shing, Michael Rossitto, Maria Konnikova, and Victoria Livschitz, to lock up a $2,740 seat to Event #7.

The $1,640 buy-in event generated a $109,500 prize pool, and it was distributed among the top 11 finishers.

Final Table Chip Counts

1. Qing Liu – 2,190,000

2. Josue Aguirre – 1,320,000

3. Michael Wang – 1,210,000

4. Ryan Laplante – 1,100,000

5. Mikael Andersen – 885,000

6. Charles Capobianco – 610,000

Final Table Recap

Charles Capobianco became the first final table casualty when Qing Liu flopped a set with his and Capobianco’s failed to hold up, exiting in sixth place.

Josue Aguirre was next to leave in fifth place. Aguirre shoved all in with and Wang’s rivered a set sending Aguirre to the rail.

Wang soon eliminated Qing Liu in fourth place when his were crakced by Wang’s .

Wang next went on to eliminate Ryan Laplante in third place. Laplante’s were bested by Wang’s .

On the final hand, Wang’s overpowered Mikael Andersen’s , ousting the latter in second place.

Mikael Andersen
Mikael Andersen


Final Table Results

1. Michael Wang – $22,986

2. Mikael Andersen – $14,355

3. Ryan Laplante – $9,340

4. Qing Liu – $6,342

5. Josue Aguirre – $4,502

6. Charles Capobianco – $3,349

Content & Images Courtesy: PokerGO Tour

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms