Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

3-Bet: Yaser Al-Keliddar, Martin Piik & David Hengen Win Titles

3-Bet Cover
  • Profile picture
  • Arpit Jain February 11, 2020
  • 4 Minutes Read

Several international stops have crowned champions recently, and the more prominent among them were Yaser Al-Keliddar, Martin Piik & David Hengen.

WSOP bracelet winner Al-Keliddar took down the $400 Opening Event at the 2020 Potomac Winter Poker Open after topping a field of 1,812 entries to win $96,567. Indian-origin player Rahul Jain finished ninth at the event pocketing $9,764 (~₹6.96 Lakhs).

Martin Piik won the MPN Poker Tour €550 Main Event in Madrid for €52,000 after defeating China’s Yu Cheng “Richard” Liu heads-up.

Meanwhile, David Hengan championed the RunGood Poker Series (RGPS) Horseshoe Council Bluffs $575 Main Event after outlasting 368 entries and took home $41,287 in prize money along with a Signature Championship ring.


Yaser Al-Keliddar Takes Down $400 Opening Event at Potomac Winter Poker Open For $96,567

The 2020 Potomac Winter Poker Open crowned its first champion at the stop in WSOP bracelet winner Yaser Al-Keliddar who took down the two days long $400 Opening Event. He defeated Matthew McGuire in the heads-up and took home the first-place prize money worth $96,567. With this cash, Al-Keliddar has reached almost $500,000 in lifetime earnings.

The event attracted 1,812 entries over six opening days, obliterating its $500,000 prize pool guarantee with the total kitty touching $588,900.

Indian players have recently been doing exceedingly well at international events, and here again, we saw an Indian Rahul Jain posting a deep run with a ninth-place finish for $9,764 (~₹6.96 Lakhs).

Heads-up, McGuire had over 70% of the chips in play against Al-Keliddar. The duo discussed a deal but couldn’t agree to one. Al-Keliddar chipped up, then doubled up to take the chip lead and finally took down the event. In the end, Al-Keliddar shoved, with and McGuire snap-called with . Al-Keliddar’s higher kicker got him the title and $96,567 in prize money.

Yaser Al-Keliddar
Yaser Al-Keliddar


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Yaser Al-Keliddar – $96,567
  2. Matthew McGuire – $53,135
  3. Cordero Hines – $42,628
  4. Coury Mascagni – $33,289
  5. Chris Zelesnick – $25,466
  6. Joseph Lafuria – $19,746
  7. Thomas Mader – $15,427
  8. Mark Castaldo – $12,216
  9. Rahul Jain – $9,764


Martin Piik Wins Final MPNPT Main Event For €52,000

The MPN Poker Tour awarded its final (23rd) MPNPT championship recently to 23-year-old Martin Piik from Estonia, who championed the €550 Main Event title at the last stop for the brand to win €52,000.

Piik won this trip to Madrid on Olybet and was relatively less experienced, having played only ten live tournaments to date. He eventually defeated China’s Yu Cheng “Richard” Liu heads-up to win the title.

After his win, Piik said, “It’s incredible. I won my seat on Olybet and came here with my Dad. To be honest, the money doesn’t mean anything – it’s the title and trophy I care about. It’s just amazing.”

The MPNPT closed out in style with the Main Event logging in an impressive 575 entries, making it one of the biggest fields in the tour’s history.

The €278,875 prize pool was shared by the top 71 places.

The final table consisted of players from six nationalities, and this included two poker pros, an MPN bot detection specialist, a recruitment consultant, a firefighter, an extreme travel specialist, and two guys who worked in finance.

UCOP champion Mateusz Moolhuizen, and award-winning podcaster David Lappin also made it in the money at the event.

Martin Piik
Martin Piik


Final Table Results (EURO)

  1. Martin Piik – €52,000
  2. Yu Cheng “Richard” Liu – €38,000
  3. Raido Ounapuu – €28,000
  4. James Sudworth – €20,000
  5. Mikael Gronvik – €14,000
  6. Stylianos Kollatos – €10,500
  7. Sebastian Lohunko – €8,100
  8. Jay Yerby – €5,600
  9. Stuart McCormack – €4,575


David Hengen Wins First RGPS Horseshoe Council Bluffs Main Event

The first RunGood Poker Series (RGPS) Horseshoe Council Bluffs $575 Main Event of the RGPS All-Stars Season managed to bring in 368 entries. Outlasting them all was David Hengen, who claimed the top prize worth $41,287 along with a Signature Championship ring.

Day 2 of the event saw 83 survivors return and the money bubble burst on Jason Currie after he bluffed his stack off to Lucas Kolbe.

Hengen was among the top stacks at the start of the final table and took over the chip lead after busting both Sam Castagnoli and Rob Kent in one go.

Hengen was an unstoppable force at the final table and eventually went heads-up against RGPS Ambassador Ray Henson.

On the final hand of the event, Henson shoved on the turn with top pair, and Hengen looked him up with two pairs. The river bricked out, and just like that, Hengen took down the title and $41,827 in prize money!

David Hengen
David Hengen


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. David Hengen – $41,827
  2. Ray Henson – $25,515
  3. Brent Wilty – $18,644
  4. Sam Johnson – $13,483
  5. Dan Grossman – $10,439
  6. Mark Laughlin – $7,990
  7. Michael Fong – $6,205
  8. Rob Kent – $4,887
  9. Sam Castagnoli – $3,904


Content and Images Courtesy: PokerNews

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms