Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

APPT Manila: Abhinav Iyer, Gaurav Sood & Ankit Wadhawan Among 10 Finalists Returning on Day 2 in ₱55K Deepstack Event

APPT Manila 2022 - Abhinav Iyer, Gaurav Sood and Ankit Wadhawan
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh July 30, 2022
  • 3 Minutes Read

Live tournament action has been raging on in Asia with full steam. After a series of back-to-back events in Vietnam, the poker action has shifted to the Philippines’ capital Manila, where the PokerStars-powered Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) has returned after a three-year hiatus. The 13th edition of APPT Manila flagged off at the Coral Lounge of the iconic Okada Manila on July 29, and the series will host 27 events through August 7.

After terrific performances in the last few outings in Vietnam, a small Indian contingent has already begun to exert its presence at the ongoing APPT Manila! Grabbing the opening day headlines were WSOP bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer, the two-time POY, Gaurav Sood, and PokerGuru Ambassador Ankit Wadhawan.

Abhinav Iyer
Abhinav Iyer


Part of the 34 runners who signed up for the 55K Deepstack event, Abhinav Iyer (195,000) almost topped the ten-player advancing field, bagging the second chip lead behind South Korea’s Yohwan Lim (242,500).

Young Gun Gaurav Sood (54,500) is ranked fifth in chips among the ten finalists, with PokerGuru Ambassador Ankit Wadhawan (31,500) sporting the shortest stack. Day 2 began at 2 PM on Saturday, July 30.

Gaurav Sood
Gaurav Sood


Iyer is coming into the series after an eventful outing at the 2022 WSOP. He had a busy summer, cashing eight bracelet events for a collective $115,183 (~₹91.96 Lakhs). Iyer also managed several deep runs outside the WSOP, including a fifth-place finish in Event #104: $1,600 NLHE Monster Bounty at the Venetian DeepStack Championship Series for $20,247 (~₹16.16 Lakhs). This was the highest score by an Indian in a non-bracelet event this summer! The MTT pro managed a few other deep runs in other side events at the MGM Grand Summer Series and The Grand Poker Series at the Golden Nugget.

PokerGuru Ambassador Ankit Wadhawan has also been busy in the last few live events in Vietnam and is hungry for a breakout score that has been eluding him. Young Gun Gaurav Sood had also attended the WPT Prime Vietnam in May.

Ankit Wadhawan
Ankit Wadhawan


Young Gun Gaurav Sood and another three Indian players, namely, the IPC Megastacks Kick-Off runner-up finisher Sameer Agarwal, Chirag Shah, and Mriga Solanki, entered Day 1A of the series-opener 3 Million GTD APPT Kickoff. The opening flight brought in 176 players, and 27 advanced to Day 2. Unfortunately, none of the Indians survived the day`s play. Canada’s Niroshan Loganathan (597,000) accumulated the most chips on Friday, with local players Kim Michael Enriquez (494,000) and James Mendoza (396,000) filling in the top three names on the day-end chip counts list.

Day 1B of the Kickoff event got underway at 1 PM (local time) on July 30, and all qualifying stacks will converge for Day 2 on Sunday, July 31.


South Korea’s Yohwan Lim Leads 10 Finalists in 55K Deepstack; India`s Abhinav Iyer, Gaurav Sood & Ankit Wadhawan in Contention

The 55K Deepstack clocked in 34 entries (27 unique players), generating a 1,632,510 (~$29,550) prize pool. Only ten survived the day`s play.

South Korea’s Yohwan Lim (242,500) grabbed the top stack, with Indian pro Abhinav Iyer (195,500) and Indian-origin player from Singapore Chakshu Raina (182,500) hot on his trail.

Young Gun Gaurav Sood (54,500) and PokerGuru Ambassador Ankit Wadhawan (31,500) also carried stacks to Day 2.

The ten players returned for Day 2 at 2 PM on Saturday, July 30, where the battle is on to find a champion.

Yohwan Lim
Yohwan Lim


Top 10 Chip Counts at the End of Day 1A

  1. Yohwan Lim – 242,500
  2. Abhinav Iyer – 195,500
  3. Chakshu Raina – 182,500
  4. Changho Im – 119,000
  5. Gaurav Sood – 54,500
  6. Keisuke Kodama – 53,500
  7. Sumin Jang – 52,000
  8. Jeffrey Lo – 48,500
  9. Kitson Kho – 40,500
  10. Ankit Wadhawan – 31,500


Canada’s Niroshan Loganathan Chip Leads 27 Survivors on Day 1A of APPT Kickoff

One of the featured events of the series, the series-opener APPT Kickoff, attracted 176 entrants (140 unique players), all of them buying in for ₱20,000 (~$360). The ₱3 Million prize guarantee is already crushed as the opening flight collected a ₱3,167,887 (~$57,300) prize pool, with Day 1B still left to run.

After almost 18 30-minute levels of play, just 27 players were left in contention, with Canada’s Niroshan Loganathan (597,000) advancing with the most chips in the bag, followed by the two local players, Kim Michael Enriquez (494,000) and James Mendoza (396,000).

Mike Takayama (299,000) was another notable Asian player advancing to Day 2.

A total of four Indians, namely Sameer Agarwal, Chirag Shah, Young Gun Gaurav Sood, and Mriga Solanki, entered Day 1A. Sadly, none of them could make it to Day 2.

The likes of reigning APPT Manila Main Event champion Florencio Campomanes, APPT Open Manila winner Henrik Tollefsen and Thijs Hilberts also fell through the day’s proceedings.

All players who busted Day 1A can re-enter on Day 1B, which plays out from 1 PM (local time) on July 30. Day 2 will run on Sunday, July 31.

Niroshan Loganathan
Niroshan Loganathan


Top 10 Chip Counts at the End of Day 1A

  1. Niroshan Loganathan – 597,000
  2. Kim Michael Enriquez – 494,000
  3. James Mendoza – 396,000
  4. Joris Michl – 326,000
  5. Jisan Jang – 312,000
  6. Mike Takayama – 299,000
  7. Noel Araniel – 284,000
  8. Jong Chan Park – 276,000
  9. Artem Sofronov – 271,000
  10. Lung Wai Tang – 264,000


Content & Images Courtesy: PokerStars

Keep following PokerGuru for all the latest updates from the 2022 APPT Manila!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms