Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

APPT Manila: Sahil Agarwal Finishes Runner-up in the PHP 55,000 Deepstack (~₹7.15 Lakhs)

  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh July 28, 2019
  • 3 Minutes Read

The Asia Pacific Poker Tour (APPT) Manila that is making its first-ever appearance at the iconic Okada Casino in Manila is already off to a flyer. It was a busy Saturday at the venue with the last two starting flights of the PHP 3 Million GTD Kickoff event playing out alongside the PHP 55,000 buy-in NLHE Deepstack.

As we had reported yesterday, a sizeable Indian contingent has already stationed itself at the series with a few more Indians expected to join them as the series progresses. Vishal Tajpuria was the only Indian player to bag a stack on Day 1A, and despite most of the other Indian players firing extra bullets on Day 1B and Day 1C we still have only Tajpuria from the Indian camp playing Day 2 today.

The day was not all bad for Team India with well-known pro Sahil Agarwal finishing runner-up in the PHP 55,000 buy-in Deepstack NLHE event for PHP 530,100 (~₹7.15 Lakhs). This former Young Gun is today a respected poker coach and mentor to numerous budding talents in a leading poker stable. After firing multiple bullets in the Kickoff event, Agarwal set his sights on the PHP 55,000 Deepstack ultimately finishing runner-up to Japan’s Nobuhito Ogo. Incidentally, Agarwal had collected his career-best score at this very stop last year when he finished runner-up in the PHP 200,000 buy-in High Roller for PHP 4,656,260 (~₹60.65 Lakhs). He once again fell one place short of the title, but it’s still early in the series and given his present form it remains to be seen if Agarwal can finally break the runner-up jinx.

As for the Kickoff event, if the organizers were hoping to outdo last year’s record of 844 entries than the final turnout ended up exceeding everyone`s expectations. A record-breaking 924-entry field was registered in the event with Day 1B attracting 325 entries (257 unique players and 68 re-entries) and another 357 entries (278 entries and 79 re-entries) joining the field on Day 1C. This is an impressive 9.5% increase in attendance over last edition`s numbers and augers well for future events!

As expected, numerous players (including Indians) who busted Day 1A fired additional bullets in the remaining two flights yesterday. Day 1B saw seven Indians in the field, namely, Sahil Agarwal, Amrut Ashok Avhad, Abraham Ceesvin, Sahil Chuttani, Mani Singh, Siddhartha Kapoor, and Jaideep Sajwan but none of them could find a bag for Day 2. Three of them, Chuttani, Singh, and Sajwan re-entered on Day 1C as well but again without success.

There are 111 players (Day 1A – 29, Day 1B – 39, Day 1C – 43) coming back to play Day 2. Day 1A qualifier Vishal Tajpuria (249,500) and Indian-origin player Stephen Nathan (258,500) are the only ones with an Indian connection still in the running.

Vishal Tajpuria and Stephen Nathan

The good news is that all returning players are assured at least PHP 32,500 (~₹43,857) from the total prize pool of PHP 12,906,432 (~₹1.74 Crores ) with the lion`s share of PHP 2,675,000 (~₹36.09 Lakhs) reserved for the eventual champion!

The frontrunner for this is the Day 1A chip leader China’s Li Jun (541,500) who holds the largest stack among the 111 survivors. Not too far behind are Day 1C chip leader Jinlong Hu (502,500) and Vietnam’s Cao Anh (500,000).

It is another busy day at Okada Manila that will see Day 2 of the Kickoff kick off at 1 PM (PHT). Also on tap today is another headline event at the stop, the PHP 33,000 APPT National. Running alongside the two marquee events will be another two side events, the PHP 8,000 NLHE Knockout Freezeout, and the PHP 100K NLHE respectively.

APPT Kickoff – Day 1B & Day 1C Recap

Day 1B of the PHP 16,000 (~₹21,591) buy-in Kickoff PHP 3 Million GTD (~₹40.48 Lakhs) got going at 1 PM (PHT) on July 27 and logged in 325 entries (257 unique players and 68 re-entries). Only 39 of them survived to Day 2.

The final starting flight, Day 1C, began a few hours later at 7 PM (PHT) and registered 357 entries (278 unique players and 79 re-entries). Only 43 could progress further.

Seven Indians, namely, Sahil Agarwal, Amrut Ashok Avhad, Abraham Ceesvin, Sahil Chuttani, Mani Singh, Siddhartha Kapoor, and Jaideep Sajwan, entered Day 1B. Unfortunately, all of them fell out before the day’s proceedings concluded. Day 1C saw three of them, Chutani, Singh, and Sajwan, taking another shot in the event but again none of them made it through.

Indian-origin Stephen Nathan (258,500) was the only player with an Indian connection to bag a stack on Day 1C.

With no Indian advancing from either Day 1B and/or Day 1C, Day 1A survivor Vishal Tajpuria (249,500) remains the only Indian who will be playing Day 2 amid the surviving field of 111 players (Day 1A – 29, Day 1B – 39, Day 1C – 43).

The record-breaking field of 924-entries helped generate a massive PHP 12,906,432 (~₹1.74 Crores) prize pool. All the 111 survivors are guaranteed at least PHP 32,500 (~₹43,857), and are playing for the top honors that include the coveted APPT title and the PHP 2,675,000 (~₹36.09 Lakhs) cash prize reserved for the winner.

China’s Li Jun (541,500) who topped the Day 1A stacks is the overall chip leader heading into Day 2. Following Jun are Day 1C chip leader Jinlong Hu (502,500), Cao Anh (500,000), and Day 1B chip leader Jose Cheung (489,000).

Other big names still in the fray include Wai Kiat Lee (338,000), Soo Jo Kim (250,000), Sam Razavi (219,000), Bobby Zhang (149,000), and Ivan Lee (145,000).

Li Jun

Top 10 Chip Counts For Day 2

  1. Li Jun- 541,500
  2. Jinlong Hu- 502,500
  3. Cao Anh- 500,000
  4. Jose Cheung- 489,000
  5. Taegyun Kim- 473,000
  6. Yohwan Lim- 463,000
  7. Oleg Mordassov- 391,500
  8. Bach Nguyen- 370,000
  9. Kun Jiang- 368,500
  10. Elmer Kalaquian- 345,000


PHP 55,000 NLHE Deepstack

The event registered a field of 48 runners that helped collect PHP 2,304,720 in the prize pool. India’s Sahil Agarwal made a strong bid for the title but ultimately fell out in second-place with Japan’s Nobuhito Ogo winning the title. Ogo collected PHP 829,700 for his win while Agarwal banked PHP 530,100 (~₹7.15 Lakhs) for his runner-up finish.

Sahil Agarwal finishes runner-up in the PHP 55K NLHE Deepstack

Final Table Results (PHP)

  1. Nobuhito Ogo – ₱829,700
  2. Sahil Agarwal – ₱530,100
  3. Sunyun Su – ₱345,700
  4. Yikun Feng – ₱253,500
  5. Liu Yanyang – ₱184,400
  6. Pete Yen Han – ₱161,320

Content & Images Courtesy: Asia Pacific Poker Tour

Keep following PokerGuru for the more exciting updates from the 2019 APPT Manila!

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms