PSi - Summer Series - Sticky

APT Philippines Championships 2018: Jun Yi Ong Tops 58 Survivors From Day 1B in Championships Event

Jun Yi Ong
  • Profile picture
  • PG News September 22, 2018
  • 6 Mins Read

Day 1A of the Championships Event at the 2018 APT Philippines Championships got off to a great start as 55 runners entered the event, out of which 26 made the cut for Day 2. However, with one more starting flight left to play, the show was just getting started.

Day 1B pulled in a better 99 players, that took the total number of participants in the event to 154. With a buy-in of ₱82,500, the ₱8,000,0000 Guaranteed prize pool was easily overshot and crossed ₱12 Million.

While the battle to make Day 2 was tough and several notables perished along the way, many former APT major titleholders managed to bag healthy stacks including Gerard Bringley (105,000), Gyeong Byeong Lee (89,200), Linh Tran (81,900), Alexis Lim (74,800), In Chul Sin (62,000) and Kwok Kwan Kit (53,200).

Meanwhile, Metro Team Pro Lester Edoc seems to be having an amazing time at the ongoing series. After winning the ₱500,000 Super High Rollers Special Event for ₱2,745,700 and crushing the 306-strong entry field of the Main Event for ₱2,849,600, Edoc is placed third in chips at the end of Day 1B with 188,800.

Lester Edoc
Lester Edoc

Japan’s Iori Yogo, who is the APT Philippines Championships Event defending champion, also wrapped up the day’s proceedings with a sizeable stack of 103,600.

But overshadowing all other entries on Day 1B was Singapore’s Jun Yi Ong, who emerged as the chip leader with 203,000 in the bag, with Korea’s Jae Hyun Lim close on his heels with a stack of 201,600.

58 players were left in the running by the time the day’s play ended. They will join the 55 survivors of Day 1A for Day 2 and leading the way will be the overall chip leader Lim Yo Hwan (219,400).

Jun Yi Ong
Jun Yi Ong

Top 10 Chip Counts At The End of Day 1B

1. Jun Yi Ong – 203,000

2. Jae Hyun Lim – 201,600

3. Lester Edoc – 188,800

4. Le Ngoc Khanh – 169,900

5. Norbert Koh – 163,200

6. Koichi Aki – 159,500

7. Kim Ki Young – 156,100

8. William Ysmael – 147,300

9. Joseph Ty Sia – 146,300

10. Oystein W.B. Nordli – 139,000

Keep following PokerGuru for more updates on 2018 APT Philippines Championships!

Related Articles:

1. APT Philippines Championships 2018: Hwan Leads 26 Survivors After Day 1A in Championships Event; Gloria, Esteban, Sayo & Araneta Win Side Events

2. APT Philippines Championships 2018: Lester Edoc Wins Main Event For ₱2,849,600

3. APT Philippines Championships 2018: Series Wraps Up After Japan’s Iori Yogo Lifts Championships Trophy

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms