PokerStars India SAG Sticky banner

APT Philippines Championships 2018: Lim Yo Hwan Wins Maiden APT Title in Championship Event For ₱2,819,900

Lim Yo Hwan
  • Profile picture
  • PG News September 25, 2018
  • 6 Mins Read

The 2018 APT Philippines Championships concluded with the completion of the four-day long Championships Event which proclaimed a winner in Korean pro Lim Yo Hwan (cover image).

The event attracted a total of 174 entries and generated a prize pool of ₱12,658,500, Outlasting the gigantic field, Hwan laid claim to his maiden APT title and posted his career-best cash of ₱2,819,900.

Final Day Recap

While the final table was initially supposed to be eight-handed, but the double elimination of Sun Tan (8th for ₱318,400) and Bobby Zhang (9th for ₱318,400) on Day 3 resulted in a seven-handed final table. The seven finalists who returned to the felt were assured to min-cash for at least ₱454,400.

Lim Yo Hwan
Lim Yo Hwan

Final Table Chip Counts

1. Lim Yo Hwan – 2,626,000

2. Steffen Endres – 2,265,000

3. Jae Hyun Lim – 1,450,000

4. Joshua Chargualaf – 857,000

5. Si Yang Phua – 782,000

6. Richard Marquez – 557,000

7. Masatoshi Tanaka – 165,000

Final Table Recap

The first to be eliminated from the seven-handed final table was the short-stacked Japanese pro Masatoshi Tanaka. He shoved his remaining stack holding card 2card 1 but ran into Jae Hyun Lim’s card 3card 1. With the board not running in Tanaka’s favour, he busted out in seventh place.

Richard Marquez was the only local player left, and had a big rail cheering him on. But his time at the felts did not last for long and he was eliminated by Germany’s Steffen Endres in sixth place. Endres himself however, was unable to stay for much longer and was the next to depart in fifth place.

Jae Hyun Lim finished in fourth place when he moved all-in with pocket fives against fellow countryman Lim Yo Hwan’s card 1card 2. Hwan picked up an ace on the flop ending Lim`s tournament run.

Soon thereafter, Guam’s Joshua Chargualaf jammed with card 2card 3 but fell to Phua’s card 3card 3 and exited in third place.

Chargualaf’s elimination set up the heads-up match between Lim Yo Hwan (5.7 Million) and Si Yang Phua (3 Million). On the final hand, Hwan raised and Phua 3-bet. Hwan moved all-in and Phua called.

Lim Yo Hwan card 1card 2

Si Yang Phua card 3card 1

The board fanned out card 2card 2card 3card 3card 2. Phua finished in runner-up place, while Hwan claimed his career-first APT title, trophy and the first-place prize money of ₱2,819,900.

Lim Yo Hwan
Lim Yo Hwan

Final Table Results (PHP)

1. Lim Yo Hwan – ₱2,819,900

2. Si Yang Phua – ₱1,879,500

3. Joshua Chargualaf – ₱1,312,200

4. Jae Hyun Lim – ₱955,200

5. Steffen Endres – ₱721,900

6. Richard Marquez – ₱564,200

7. Masatoshi Tanaka – ₱454,400

Meanwhile, ₱5,500 Deep Stack Turbo drew in 81 runners and topping them all was Filipino Valeriano Laurel for ₱105,200. Laurel bested Japan’s Kai Shuto in the heads-up battle, and the latter pocketed ₱70,100 for his runner-up finish.

Related Articles:

1. APT Philippines Championships 2018: Lim Yo Hwan Leads Championships Event Final Table, India’s Singh, Polishetty & Madugula Score in Side Events

2. APT Philippines Championships 2018: Jun Yi Ong Tops 58 Survivors From Day 1B in Championships Event

3. APT Philippines Championships 2018: Hwan Leads 26 Survivors After Day 1A in Championships Event; Gloria, Esteban, Sayo & Araneta Win Side Events

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms