GetMega - Sticky

Aussie Millions 2019: Vincent Huang Takes Down The Accumulator For A$139,070, Jayan Prasad Finishes 4th For A$52,710; Luis Arrilucea Ships The Bounty For A$137,575

  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee Khasnabis January 28, 2019
  • 3 Minutes Read

The A$10,600 Main Event of the 2019 Aussie Millions is off to a cracking start and has already begun its second starting flight. 2019 APT Vietnam Main Event winner Abhinav Iyer, tried his luck in the first starting flight, but failed to make the cut. Other pros including Raghav Bansal and Paawan Bansal are expected to make an appearance in the upcoming flights.

However, Indians have also been seen in action in the side events and among the top performers so far is Jayan Prasad, who cashed in fourth place in the A$1,150 Accumulator event for A$52,710 (₹26.93 Lakhs). The event was ultimately won by Vincent Huang who took away A$139,070 in prize money, following a heads-up deal with runner-up Toby Joyce who bagged A$161,800.

Another event which recently came to a close was the A$2,000 Bounty. Out of the 343 runners that joined in the action, local player Luis Arrilucea emerged victorious and claimed his first-ever live title, along with the A$137,575 top prize.

A$1,150 Accumulator

The 857-strong entry field in the Accumulator was decimated by Vincent Huang who grabbed his second ANTON Championship Ring along with A$139,070 in prize money, after striking a heads-up deal with Ireland’s Toby Joyce who pocketed a better A$161,800 for his runner-up finish.

Indian-origin Jayan Prasad was also seen in action at the event. Prasad, who hails from Chennai, picked up first live cash in 2008 in the A$400 NLHE at the $100,000 Queen’s Birthday Poker Tournament, Sydney where he finished fourth for A$7,000 (₹3,57,701). He also participated in the Opening Event at the ongoing series and finished 86th for A$4,309 (₹2,20,190). He placed fourth in this event for A$52,710 (₹26,93,491) in prize money.

Jayan Prasad
Jayan Prasad

Final Table Recap

The first elimination on the nine-handed final table was of short-stacked player Anthony Marenko (9th). He was followed to the rail by Dutch player Joep Raemaekers (8th).

Next to bust was local player Martin Comer (7th) with Luke Martinelli (6th) and Bjorn Ostby (5th) going out one after the other.

Indian-origin Jayan Prasad did well to reach the top five but fell short of the title and finished in fourth place. This was Prasad’s best score till date.

American pro Joshua Abady, who was another player who had cashed in the Opening Event, went out in third place.

At the start of the heads-up battle, start-of-day chip leader Toby Joyce and Vincent Huang struck a deal which saw Joyce claim the majority share of the prize pool. However, in the end it was Huang who took down the event and captured the coveted ANTON Championship ring for A$139,070.

Vincent Huang
Vincent Huang

Final Table Results (AUD)

1. Vincent Huang – A$139,070*

2. Toby Joyce – A$161,800*

3. Joshua Abady – A$70,280

4. Jayan Prasad – A$52,710

5. Bjorn Ostby – A$35,140

6. Luke Martinelli – A$27,585

7. Martin Comer – A$21,965

8. Joep Raemaekers – A$18,890

9. Anthony Marenko – A$15,815

*denotes heads-up deal

A$2,000 Bounty

The Bounty was the 10th event of the series and pulled in a player field of 343 participants. Taking top honors at the event was Luis Arrilucea who secured the biggest win of his career for A$137,575 in first-place prize money. Arrilucea has total live earnings of about $500,000.

Final Table Recap

Out of the four Australians on the eight-player final table, Frank Pezzaniti (8th) and Joel Cohen (7th) were the first two to be eliminated. They were joined at the rail by Ryan Otto (6th), Hong Kong’s Danny Tang (5th) and UK’s Craig McCorkell (4th).

At the start of three-handed play, Ryan Bownds was the shortest stack and he too had to give up his seat in third place.

The heads-up play started with Dutchman Bas de Laat taking the chip lead, but within an hour he was down to 11 big blinds. On the final hand, his were cracked by Arrilucea’s , with the runout offering no help to either players. De Laat missed out on winning his second Aussie Millions ring, as Arrilucea clinched the title and top prize of A$137,575.

Luis Arrilucea
Luis Arrilucea

Final Table Results (AUD)

1. Luis Arrilucea – A$137,575

2. Bas de Laat – A$93,665

3. Ryan Bownds – A$58,540

4. Craig McCorkell – A$46,830

5. Danny Tang – A$35,125

6. Ryan Otto – A$29,270

7. Joel Cohen – A$23,125

8. Frank Pezzaniti – A$17,270

Content & Images courtesy: PokerNews/

Keep following PokerGuru for more updates from the 2019 Aussie Millions!

*Please note that we had erroneously reported that Aditya Sushant had played and was eliminated on Day 1A of Aussie Millions Main Event. The same has been rectified in this report on 30.01.2019.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms