Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Aussie Millions 2019: Vinod Megalmani Finishes 5th in Terminator; Aditya Sushant Places 25th in Hyper Turbo

Vinod Megalmani & Aditya Sushant
  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee Khasnabis January 29, 2019
  • 4 Minutes Read

A small but strong contingent of top Indian pros are presently cranking up the heat at the 2019 Aussie Millions. On the heels of Jayan Prasad‘s fourth place finish in the A$1,150 Accumulator event for A$52,710 (₹26.93 Lakhs), two more Indians posted scores in the side events recently.

Vinod Megalmani sailed into the final table of the A$1,150 Terminator where he finished fifth for A$13,485 (₹6.87 Lakhs). Megalmani’s finish is his first-ever cash at the Aussie Millions, which is also his career-best live score till date.

2017 World Series of Poker (WSOP) bracelet champion Aditya Sushant also picked up a score in the A$1,150 Hyper Turbo finishing 25th for A$2,410 (₹1.22 Lakhs).

In the winner’s circle was Greece`s Ioannis Angelou-Konstas, who outran 489 runners in the A$1,150 Terminator to claim his first ANTON Championship ring. Angelou-Konstas banked a payday of A$59,695. The $1,150 Hyper Turbo was taken down by Michel Bouskila who topped a 336-entry field to win A$80,930.

A$1,150 Terminator

The A$1,150 Terminator attracted 489 runners and dominating the field was Greek player Ioannis Angelou-Konstas who took down the event for A$59,695 and his first-ever score at the Aussie Millions. Angelou-Konstas defeated Michael Fraser heads-up to win the ANTON Championship ring.

From the Indian camp, Vinod Megalmani stormed his way into the final table where he picked up a fifth place cash prize of $13,485 (₹6,87,592).

Vinod Megalmani
Vinod Megalmani

Final Table Recap

Grant Levy was the first finalist to exit in ninth place. Fellow Australian Tim Sheehan followed Levy to the rail in eighth place.

The two women players who had cruised into the finale were the next to leave. Connie Graham finished seventh, while Germany’s Susanne Kaufer was eliminated in sixth place.

Indian pro Vinod Megalmani then saw his deep run cut short in fifth place and with that picked up his first Aussie Millions cash.

Following Megalmani was Hung-Shen Lin who had narrowly missed out on making it to the final table in the Mix-Max event where he took 10th place. Here, Lin took home a fourth place payout.

For most part of the final table play, Gavin O’Rourke was pretty much in the lead but a prolonged dry run saw him hitting the rail in third place.

In the heads-up play with Michael Fraser, Angelou-Konstas, who had chipped up after eliminating O’Rourke, eliminated the former to take down the title!

Ioannis Angelou-Konstas
Ioannis Angelou-Konstas

Final Table Results (AUD)

1. Ioannis Angelou-Konstas – A$59,695

2. Michael Fraser – A$37,865

3. Gavin O’Rourke – A$23,745

4. Hung-Sheng Lin – A$18,610

5. Vinod Megalmani – A$13,485

6. Susanne Kaeufer – A$10,915

7. Connie Graham – A$8,600

8. Tim Sheehan – A$7,315

9. Grant Levy – A$6,035

A$1,150 Hyper Turbo

The 14th event on the 2019 Aussie Millions schedule, the A$1,150 Hyper Turbo attracted a total of 336 entries, with the top 36 players making it in the money. With ten-minute levels, the fast-paced event played crowned a winner in Michel Bouskila who defeated Bo Song in the heads-up play to pocket the A$80,930 top prize and an ANTON Championship ring.

India’s Aditya Sushant was among the known faces in the field and he posted his first score of the series by finishing 25th for A$2,410 (~₹1,22,884).

Aditya Sushant
Aditya Sushant

Other notables who made it in the money include Marsh (10th for A$6,715), Netanel Amedi (11th for A$5,680) and Natalie Teh (32nd for A$2,240).

Final Table Recap

Australia’s Tino Lechich finished ninth on the final table, recording his 14th Aussie Millions cash. Rodijub Batoz followed next, in eighth place.

The most prominent face on the final table was Belgium’s Kenny Hallaert who had won the 2018 Aussie Millions Turbo Shot Clock. Sadly, Hallaert couldn’t repeat the feat again in this event and ended up collecting the seventh place payout.

Ben Lai crashed out in sixth place with En-Cheng Wu and Jiwei Deng following him out in fifth and fourth place respectively.

Three-handed, Dean Blatt moved all in with pocket tens against Bo Song who held queen-nine. A ten in the window gave Blatt a set but Song turned a straight to send Blatt packing in third place.

Bo Song entered heads-up play with a five-to-one chip lead, but Bouskila battled his way into the lead and eventually relegated Song to the runner-up place to win his second Aussie Millions ring!

Michel Bouskila
Michel Bouskila

Final Table Results (AUD)

1. Michel Bouskila – A$80,930

2. Bo Song – A$51,655

3. Dean Blatt – A$32,715

4. Jiwei Deng – A$25,830

5. En-Ching Wu – A$18,940

6. Ben Lai – A$15,500

7. Kenny Hallaert – A$12,055

8. Rodljub Batoz – A$10,160

9. Tino Lechich – A$8,265

Content & Images courtesy: PokerNews/crownmelbourne.com.au

Keep following PokerGuru for more updates from the 2019 Aussie Millions!

*Please note that we had erroneously reported that Aditya Sushant had played and was eliminated on Day 1A of Aussie Millions Main Event. The same has been rectified in this report on 30.01.2019.

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Players

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms