APT Vietnam 2019: Romit Advani Leads 9 Indians on Day 2 of Championships Event, Young Gun Abhinav Iyer in Pole Position on APT POS Leaderboard

Romit Advani & Abhinav Iyer_Cover
  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee Khasnabis January 18, 2019
  • 4 Minutes Read

Day 1B of the Championships Event at the 2019 Asian Poker Tour (APT) Vietnam is now in the books and Team India has a strong contingent of nine players who have progressed to Day 2!

Romit Advani and Young Gun Abhinav Iyer joined the Day 1B action which attracted a total of 99 entries. While Advani broke into the top 10 stacks of the day with a bag of 153,200, Iyer build up a commendable stack of 92,200 to carry forward to Day 2. They will join the seven Indian contenders who qualified from Day 1A on Day 2.

Team India’s Chip Counts Heading Into Day 2

Indian Chip Counts for Day 2

Stephen Schumacher, the Day 1B chip leader is also the overall chip leader heading into Day 2 with a stack of 275,900. Dinh Xuan Dinh (245,900) and Soo Jo Kim (229,200) are a close second and third in chips.

The 49 Day 1B hopefuls will join the 60 Day 1A survivors creating a field of 109 players at the start of play on Day 2 today.

Moreover, Abhinav Iyer, who recently won the APT Vietnam Main Event, is at the top of the APT Player of the Series (POS) leaderboard with 899.18 points.

The side events that ran alongside the Championships Event crowned winners in Hyun Duc Tai (NLH Single Day 4 for VND 163,402,000 – ₹5 Lakhs), Ryusuke Kasawaki (Super Deep Stack Turbo for VND 157,266,000 – ₹4.81 Lakhs) and Kopyl Waldemar (WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo for VND 89,591,000 – ₹2.74 Lakhs).

Championships Event – Day 1B Recap

99 players participated in Day 1B of the Championships Event, but only 49 survived the day’s play.

From India, Romit Advani and Young Gun Abhinav Iyer advanced to Day 2. Advani cracked into the top 10 chip counts for Day 1B and is placed 10th in chips with a stack of 153,200, while Iyer who is in exceptional form following his Main Event win on January 15 bagged a workable stack of 92,200. They will now join the seven Indian challengers who qualified from Day 1A.

Romit Advani
Romit Advani

USA’s Stephen Schumacher accumulated the largest stack for the day with 275,900 in chips. During the last few hands of the Day 1B, Schumacher won a big pot against Nguyen Hoang Bach which propelled him not only to the top of the leaderboard for Day 1B, but also made him the overall chip leader.

Stephen Schumacher
Stephen Schumacher

Top 10 Chip Counts At The End of Day 1B

1. Stephen Schmacher – 275,900

2. Tomomitsu Ono – 198,700

3. Tan Huynh – 197,500

4. Jerome Bradpiece – 181,300

5. Kwon Eun Ho – 181,300

6. Edgar Kim – 169,200

7. Jeonggyu Cho – 159,800

8. Linh Tran – 159,400

9. Ajitpal Singh – 155,400

10. Romit Advani – 153,200

NLH Single Day 4 (Shot Clock)

The NLH Single Day 4 event drew in 76 entries culminating in a prize pool of VND 589,760,000 (₹18,06,465). The fast-paced Shot Clock format event crowned a winner in local player Hyun Duc Tai who defeated Japan’s Tetsuya Tsuchikawa to pocket a payday of VND 163,402,000 (₹5,00,508).

Hyun Duc Tai
Hyun Duc Tai

You can catch the final table action here.

Final Table Results (VND)

1. Hyun Duc Tai – VND 163,402,000

2. Tetsuya Tsuchikawa – VND 108,933,000

3. Craig Anthony Cooper – VND 75,729,000

4. Chan You Ren – VND 54,697,000

5. Ishikawa Shoma – VND 40,905,000

6. Ben Loo – VND 31,570,000

7. Long Lam – VND 25,070,000

8. Hyunh Van Tan – VND 20,425,000

9. Yoichi Uesugi – VND 17,021,000

10. Hai Le – VND 14,184,000

Super Deep Stack Turbo

The Super Deep Stack Turbo event created a prize pool of VND 616,920,000 (₹18,89,658) through the 106 runners who entered the fray. The turbo event handed out payouts to only 18 players and collecting the biggest piece of the prize pool kitty was Japan’s Ryusuke Kasawaki who claimed his maiden APT title for a paycheque of VND 157,266,000 (₹4,81,714).

Ryusuke Kasawaki
Ryusuke Kasawaki

Watch the final table action here.

WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo

The WeLoveSport.com Deep Stack Turbo was a sponsored event that was taken down by Kopyl Waldemar who outlasted Jaysen de San Miguel in the heads-up play to capture the title for VND 89,591,000 (₹2,74,421) in first-place prize money.

Kopyl Waldemar
Kopyl Waldemar

Michael Kim Falcon made it to the final table yet again and is now placed second in the APT Player of the Series leaderboard behind India`s Abhinav Iyer.

APT Player of the Series

India’s Abhinav Iyer is currently in pole position in the Player of the Series (POS) race with 899.18 points, followed by Falcon (834.95 points) and Nguyen Huu Tuan (746.42 points).

Abhinav Iyer
Abhinav Iyer

Other Indians who feature in the top 50 include Dhaval Mudgal (11th for 471.65), Meherzad Munsaf (20th for 380.17), Vishal Tajpuria (40th for 247.41) and Eka Vedantham (46th for 238.45).

Images & Content courtesy: Asian Poker Tour

Keep following PokerGuru for more updates from 2019 APT Kickoff Vietnam!

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Players

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms