Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Daily Majors: Alok Birewar Wins 2 Titles; Doddapaneni, Das & Sharma Dominate the Other Thursday Flagships

Alok Birewar, Sriharsha Doddapaneni, Anirban Das and Vaibhav Sharma 635x423
  • Profile picture
  • Arpit Jain May 22, 2020
  • 1 Minute Read

Weekdays or weekends, these days are choc-a-bloc with action, and yesterday was no different. The star performer of the day was Alok Birewar, who went on to champion not one but two flagship tourneys. Sriharsha Doddapaneni, Anirban Das, Anant Purohit, and Vaibhav Sharma were the other movers and shakers banking the big bucks. Here is a recap of what went down across the major online platforms on Thursday.


Spartan Poker

Spartan Poker`s Thursday flagship Ultron ran with a reduced ₹20 Lakhs GTD last night – the same tourney offered a ₹30 Lakhs prize pool GTD last Thursday. A turnout of 586 entries (271 unique, 97 re-entries, and 218 rebuys) generated a robust ₹23.44 Lakhs prize pool. The final showdown took place between Alok ‘Mazacar’ Birewar and Anant ‘Pro’ Purohit. Birewar eventually beat Purohit heads-up for the title and walked away with the ₹4.54 Lakhs first-place prize! Purohit placed runner-up for ₹2.88 Lakhs.

Alok Birewar
Alok Birewar


Both Birewar and Purohit delivered breakout performances yesterday. For Birewar this was the first of two flagship tourneys that he won last night. Similarly, Purohit finished runner in two marquee tourneys himself.

The other prominent winner on Spartan Poker was Vaibhav ‘Nikka Zaildar’ Sharma, who championed the Knockout ₹6 Lakhs GTD to collect ₹1.56 Lakhs after defeating Rohan ‘Redington’ Soman (runner-up for ₹1.03 Lakhs) in the heads-up play. Kanchan ‘Bubblegum’ Sharma placed third for ₹69,800.

Vaibhav Sharma
Vaibhav Sharma


The UVS Monster Stack ₹5 Lakhs GTD collected a field of 374 entries (200 unique, 75 re-entries, 99 rebuys) and banking the lion’s share of the prize pool was ‘Denzong’ who defeated Bhanu ‘spectre’ Prakash (2nd for ₹74,781) heads-up to win ₹1.12 Lakhs.



After championing the Ultron, Birewar who plays as ‘TheProfessional’ on PokerBaazi took down the site’s flagship Thursday event, The Summit ₹20 Lakhs GTD, adding another ₹5.20 Lakhs to his tally. This time, Birewar defeated ‘dg2793’ (2nd for ₹3.65 Lakhs) heads-up taking his lifetime record over the ₹1.22 Crore-mark. The event generated a prize pool of ₹23.55 Lakhs on the back of a field of 164 entries (155 unique entries and 159 re-entries) and the top 36 places finished ITM.

Topping the 211-entry field (125 uniques and 86 re-entries) in the Grinders Thursday MonsterStack ₹6 Lakhs GTD was ‘buddha123’ who defeated ‘md20’ (2nd for ₹1.02 Lakhs) heads-up to win ₹1.45 Lakhs in prize money.


PokerStars India

It was a massive Thursday on PokerStars India that hosted its INSCOOP Super Highroller ₹50 Lakhs GTD. The tourney brought in some of the most prominent names from the community. In all, 200 heavyweights (130 unique and 70 re-entries) ponied up the 27,500 buy-in, resulting in the event just about breaking even. Coming out on top of this reg-infested field was one of the most revered players in the country today, Sriharsha ‘1ll|1ll1|ll1|’ Doddapaneni. The Noida-based poker pro pocketed ₹9.81 Lakhs for the victory after defeating MTT beast Anant ‘Dr4gonW4rrior’ Purohit (runner-up for ₹7.23 Lakhs) in the heads-up play. This was Purohit`s second runner-up finish and he banked over ₹10 Lakhs from these two deep runs.

Sriharsha Doddapaneni
Sriharsha Doddapaneni


Top regs like Vaibhav ‘GTO_LIFE_GG’ Sharma (3rd for ₹5.32 Lakhs), Young Gun Gaurav ‘3betPanda’ Sood (4th for ₹3.92 Lakhs), Sharad ‘sordykrd’ Rao (6th for ₹2.12 Lakhs), PokerGuru Ambassador Ashish ‘Spewushhhiiiii’ Ahuja (8th for ₹1.15 Lakhs) and Kunal ‘iAlwaysHaveit’ Patni (9th for ₹1 Lakh) also posted FT scores at the event.

The INSCOOP The Classic 6 Lakhs GTD title was captured by ‘The AnnihiIator’ who outduelled ‘vinaash’ (2nd for ₹97,350) in the heads-up to collect ₹1.29 Lakhs in prize money.



Over at Adda52, the Godfather ₹30 Lakhs GTD pulled in 602 entries (285 unique and 317 re-entries) avoiding an overlay and the top 63 places boarded the money bus. Piercing the field to win the title was the online crusher Anirban ‘AjGar5’ D Das who collided with high stakes crusher Shashank ‘felter’ Jain (runner-up for ₹4.12 Lakhs) in the heads-up match. The victory fetched Das a cash prize of ₹7.07 Lakhs.

Anirban D Das
Anirban D Das


Myron Pereira was another player who deserves a mention for his blistering FT finishes in two big-ticket tourneys yesterday. Pereira placed seventh in Adda52’s Godfather for ₹82,775 and also took fourth place in Spartan Poker’s Ultron for ₹1.68 Lakhs.

NOTE: The cyclone Amphan has disrupted out normal operations due to which we will be unable to publish the detailed Daily Majors report today.

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms