Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Daily Majors: Vaibhav Temani Beats Poker Veteran Aditya Agarwal Heads-up to Deny Team PokerGuru a Second IOPC – The Crown Title

Daily Majors 02-08
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh August 3, 2021
  • 5 Minutes Read

The biggest-ever IOPC is all but over, with only the IOPC Masters Table left to name the new IOPC Mastermind.

Bringing the most exciting piece of tournament action was the final table of the series’ showstopper, the ₹3.50 Crores GTD IOPC #138 – The Crown. The eight finalists convened at 5 PM yesterday to battle it out for one of the most prestigious online titles in the country. The former PMVS Main Event champion Vaibhav Temani came from behind to defeat the start-of-the-FT chip leader Aditya Agarwal heads-up to win the diamond-studded gold IOPC crown and a life-changing ₹57.26 Lakhs. He also finished 66th in the event for ₹76,287, in all adding ₹58.02 Lakhs, and also booked the final seat on the IOPC Masters Table.

With Aditya Agarwal falling out in second place, Team PokerGuru missed its chance of winning a second consecutive IOPC – The Crown title. In the last IOPC edition in January, PokerGuru Ambassador Laksh Pal Singh had championed IOPC – The Crown for ₹51.81 Lakhs. Nevertheless, Agarwal banked a hefty ₹33.21 Lakhs for his runner-up finish, adding another significant score to his already glittering poker resume.

Young Gun’s Anuj Yadav (3rd for ₹21 Lakhs) and Siddhanth Kripalani (4th for ₹16.68 Lakhs) & Amit J (5th for ₹12.57 Lakhs) were others who banked seven figures in the IOPC #138 – The Crown.

Moving over to the APT Online Series India, Shubham Agarwal bagged the second APT Trophy at the ongoing series after winning the APT #10 Monday Major for ₹4.09 Lakhs. Young Gun Sanat Mehrotra finished runner-up for ₹2.87 Lakhs.

Vinay Rajpal was among the IOPC #138 – The Crown finalists and posted an eighth-place score in the event worth ₹5.56 Lakhs. A few hours after the deep run, Rajpal shipped the APT #12 PLO for ₹1.94 Lakhs, netting ₹7.94 Lakhs overall.

Saumya Agarwal clinched the only WPT trophy of the day in the Monday Feature 6-Max for a career-best ₹3.67 Lakhs.

Pravin Garle championed the APT #13 Turbo for his first APT title and a ₹1.71 Lakhs payday after striking a heads-up deal with Rising Star Pratibh Saluja (2nd for ₹1.46 Lakhs).

Parth Budhraja shipped Spartan Poker`s ReCharge for ₹1.63 Lakhs, following a three-way deal with Ashish Kumar (2nd for ₹1.30 Lakhs) and ‘tull1969’ (3rd for ₹1.28 Lakhs).

Vivek Karwa (Won WPT Table for 6 for ₹1.53 Lakhs), Rising Star Ritwik Khanna (Won APT #8 DST for ₹1.12 Lakhs), Ashish ’xznny112’ Nailwal (Won WPT Classic ₹4 Lakhs GTD for ₹1.10 Lakhs), ‘kabir2298’ (Won Battle Royale ₹5 Lakhs GTD for ₹94,563), and Karan Malhotra (Won Deepstack ₹50K GTD for ₹11,597) won the other Monday marquees.

Here is the detailed account of the Monday tournament action!

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by PokerGuru (@pokerguru_india)



Spartan Poker

The 11th edition of the IOPC entered the history books last night as the ₹3.50 Crores GTD IOPC The Crown played down to a champion. After almost two-and-a-half hours of nail-biting FT action, Vaibhav ’AllinPavBhaji’ Temani donned the metaphorical crown (he’ll get the diamond-studded gold IOPC crown later), pocketing a colossal ₹57.26 Lakhs payday! Since Temani had also cashed in 66th place for ₹76,287, his total winning in the event came in at a staggering ₹58.02 Lakhs.

Vaibhav Temani
Vaibhav Temani


It wasn’t an easy win for the former PMVS Main Event champion, who had entered the final table with the fourth-largest stack. While his final table opponents were formidable players, his toughest competition was his heads-up rival Aditya ‘Yennefer’ Agarwal.

Aditya Agarwal
Aditya Agarwal


Vaibhav Temani entered the heads-up showdown staring at a 10-to-1 chip deficit and that too against a world-renowned MTT pro like Aditya Agarwal. However, despite the stiff odds, he was not deterred. Playing fearlessly, Temani eventually managed to take the chip lead away from Agarwal. After about 30 minutes of heads-up action, Temani shipped the tourney to collect his career-first IOPC title!

Vaibhav Temani`s stats: Lifetime Winnings: ₹2.14 Crores|Lifetime Profit: ₹53.34 Lakhs

Poker coach Aditya Agarwal has been preparing for the upcoming WSOP fall series and has noticeably kept away from the virtual felts for some time now. But his run of the final table of the IOPC The Crown proved that he is still one of the fiercest pros in the country. Agarwal took home a handsome ₹33.20 Lakhs payday for the runner-up finish. He had carried multiple stacks to Day 2, raking in ₹2.93 Lakhs more (16th for ₹1,87,900, 114th for ₹41,338, 145th for ₹41,338, and 372nd for ₹22,924), adding almost ₹36.14 Lakhs.

The IOPC leaderboard topper, Young Gun Anuj ’tittooTauji’ Yadav (3rd for ₹20.99 Lakhs), Young Gun Siddhanth ’PluRibu$’ Kripalani (4th for ₹16.67 Lakhs), Amit ’guru’ J (5th for ₹12.57 Lakhs), Ankit ’ON_MY_MAC’ Omprakash Bajaj (6th for ₹8.79 Lakhs), Mayank ’KeepHustling’ Jaggi (7th for ₹6.65 Lakh), and Vinay ’BeepBeepImaJeep’ Rajpal (8th for ₹5.56 Lakhs) received the other final table payouts.

Anuj Yadav
Anuj Yadav


You can watch the replay of the FT live stream below, with commentary by IPC Director Peter Abraham, Young Gun Kanchan Sharma, and Zarvan Tumboli.

With the IOPC The Crown title, Vaibhav Temani also booked the final seat on the IOPC Master Table that plays out at 5 PM on August 4.

With the IOPC July Edition all but over, Spartan Poker quickly reverted back to its regular Monday schedule. The ₹8 Lakhs GTD ReCharge headlined the day`s proceedings, and Parth ’ucallucry’ Budhraja traversed the 465-entry field to collect the lion’s share of the ₹9.30 Lakhs prize pool worth ₹1.63 Lakhs. A three-way deal resulted in Ashish’ King$layer’ Kumar (runner-up for ₹1.30 Lakhs) and ‘tull1969’ (3rd for ₹1.28 Lakhs) securing podium finishes.

Runner-up Ashish Kumar
Runner-up Ashish Kumar


Parth Budhraja now has ₹23.90 Lakhs in recorded winnings on Spartan Poker.

Spartan Poker’s 4 Lakhs GTD The Flash registered 399 entries, falling just one entry short of its 400-player guarantee. The mystery user ‘Kalidenalii’ won the event for ₹80,200. ‘elbedonk’ placed runner-up for ₹53,320.

As confirmed by us earlier, the IOPC The Crown`s FT outcome had no impact on the IOPC Leaderboard standings, with Young Gun Anuj ‘tittooTauji’ Yadav dominating the standings convincingly to win a ginormous ₹30 Lakhs in leaderboard prizes. The two-time IOPC leaderboard crusher Bhanu ‘spectre’ Prakash KC missed his hattrick and came second to collect ₹20 Lakhs. Abhijeet ‘TheSupremeone’ Kumar banked ₹10 Lakhs in third place.

IOPC Leaderboard Standings (Final)

RankPlayerPrize (BM)
1Anuj 'tittooTauji' Yadav₹30,00,000
2Bhanu 'spectre' Prakash KC₹20,00,000
3Abhijeet 'TheSupremeone' Kumar₹10,00,000
4Anirban 'pokernoob' D Das₹8,00,000
5Tanmay 'PlusEv' Benara₹6,00,000
6Neeraj 'Jannat52' Kumar₹4,50,000
7Aman 'KarmaPoker' Parakh₹4,00,000
8Abhishek 'MambaMentality' Goindi₹3,50,000
9Suraj 'MR.BEAST' N Yadav₹3,00,000
10Kunal 'NutsTodayBluffTomo' Patni₹2,50,000



Day 2 of the APT Online Series India awarded five titles, including one APT trophy.

The featured event of the day, the ₹20 Lakhs GTD APT #10 Monday Major, clocked in 618 entries to record a guarantee-smashing ₹21.63 Lakhs prize pool. Shubham ‘backchod’ Agarwal outran the competition to win his first APT title and a personal-best ₹4.09 Lakhs. Agarwal was the underdog at the start of the heads-up showdown against Young Gun Sanat’ mehro2511’ Mehrotra but overcame the huge chip deficit to lift the APT trophy.