Baazi - PLO - Sticky

DPT February 2019: Final Table Set For ₹35K Main Event; Ankit Kapoor Leads With Mayank Jaggi, Meherzad Munsaf & Dhaval Mudgal in Contention

DPT Cover
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh February 11, 2019
  • 3 Minutes Read

The ongoing 2019 Deltin Poker Tournament (DPT) February edition has reached a crescendo with the ₹35K Main Event fast winding down towards crowning a champion. From a 286-strong field, 108 players made it to Day 2 that brought exciting action on the felts at Casino Deltin Royale. A full day of play later there are only nine players left standing.

Leading the charge is Ankit Kapoor who holds a stack of 23,95,000. Kapoor was the final table chip leader in the series opener ₹15K Deep Dive NLH where he eventually finished 3rd for ₹2.90 Lakhs. He will definitely be looking to perform better this time around!

Another familiar name on the final table is Meherzad Munsaf (6,75,000). A tournament regular, Munsaf opened his scorecard this year at APT Vietnam, where his most notable score came in the Head Hunter event (9th for ₹52, 478). In the 2018 DPT Colossus Super High Roller Series ₹200K NLHE DPT Super High Roller, he had narrowly missed out on the title where he finished runner-up for ₹19.16 Lakhs but he is once again within striking distance of a major live title.

Meherzad Munsaf
Meherzad Munsaf

Other prominent pros in contention include 2018 WPT Vietnam Main Event winner, Dhaval Mudgal (5,55,000) and circuit regular Mayank Jaggi (8,40,000), both more than capable of going the distance despite their short stacks.

While each of the final table players is already guaranteed at least ₹2.25 Lakhs, the chase is now for the title and the top prize of ₹22.50 Lakhs.

The money bubble burst on Hardik Shah. Shah went out at the hands of Mudgal who held pocket treys against his ace-jack and couldn’t improve to show better. With Shah’s elimination, the rest of the 31 players were in the money for at least ₹75,000.

Adda52 ₹65K High Roller winner Abhishek Goindi has been in trailblazing form this past weekend, and just a day after winning the highest buy-in tournament at the series he was once again among the top contenders for the Main Event title. His run for back-to-back titles came to a close at 10th place as he bubbled the final table, adding ₹1.80 Lakhs to his scorecard at this series..

Abhishek Goindi
Abhishek Goindi

Team PokerGuru Ambassadors Lakh Pal Singh (24th for ₹77,000) and Kartik Ved (30th for ₹75,000) were among the other notable names who made it in the money alongside the likes of Minissha Lamba (21st for ₹87,000), Gokul Krishna (22nd for ₹87,000) and ₹15K Deep Dive NLH champion Nikita Luther (26th for ₹77,000).

Along the sidelines, Sajjan Barnwal bested 120 entries in the ₹15K NLH Bounty for ₹2.30 Lakhs.


Day 2 Recap

The Main Event registered a total of 286 entries across three starting flights and 108 among them progressed to Day 2. Action was intense right from the get-go and rapid eliminations saw the field narrow down to 55 players within the first three hours of play.

Early eliminations included Shiva Teja who saw his pocket jacks cracked by Shreyabha Pandey’s ace-king that had improved to a set of aces on the flop.

There were a slew of double ups, including Ayush Garg who scooped a pot off Praveen Kumar and Vidur. S. was seen doubling up through Sajal Gupta.

Hardik Shah was knocked out on the money bubble by Dhaval Mudgal who shoved all in for 60K from the small blind with putting the short-stacked Shah who held at risk. Shah called from the big blind and the board ran out . Mudgal collected the pot, sending Shah out in 32nd place. With Shah’s elimination the remaining 31 players were all in the money.

Team PokerGuru Ambassador Kartik Ved (30th for ₹75,000) found his title aspirations cut short when a player from the button moved all in for 170K with and Ved called from the hijack for 60K, holding . The board fell and though Vedhad flopped a pair of queen, his opponents paired his ace on the turn. Ved banked ₹75,000 for his 30th place finish.

Kartik Ved
Kartik Ved

Among the other familiar names who earned payouts were, Alok Birewar (13th for ₹1.20 Lakhs), Sajal Gupta (14th for ₹1.20 Lakhs), Gaurav Kalra (20th for ₹87,000), Minissha Lamba (21st for ₹87,000), Gokul Krishna (22nd for ₹87,000), Team PokerGuru Ambassador Lakh Pal Singh (24th for ₹77,000), ₹15K Deep Dive NLH champion Nikita Luther (26th for ₹77,000) and Parikshit D. (29th for ₹75,000).

However, Siddharth Singhvi, Sumit Sapra, Sahil Mahboobani, Harshil Dhingra, Maria Kirloskar, online pro and former DPT winner Rubin Labroo, Vivek Rughani, Shravan Chhabria and PokerGuru Ambassadors Tathagata Sengupta and Ashish Munot, all hit the rail empty-handed.

Abhishek Goindi (10th for ₹1.80 Lakhs) was looking to repeat his recent victory on the DPT felts but fell agonizingly short of the final table. With Goindi heading out to the payouts desk, the final nine then bagged up their stacks one final time before the finale.

Ankit Kapoor
Ankit Kapoor Chip Leads the Main Event Final Table

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Ankit Kapoor – 23,95,000
  2. Sai Raveesh V – 14,40,000
  3. Ankur Sehgal – 10,90,000
  4. Mayank Jaggi – 8,40,000
  5. Rachit Prakash – 7,10,000
  6. Meherzad Munsaf – 6,75,000
  7. Dhaval Mudgal – 5,55,000
  8. Arun Karthik – 4,75,000
  9. DhirajkumarTotala – 4,10,000


The final table of the ₹35K Main Event will resume at 5pm later today where they will play down to a winner.


Content & Images Courtesy:

Keep following PokerGuru for more exciting updates from the 2019 DPT February Edition!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms