P52 - Sticky

DPT February 2019: Abhishek Goindi Takes Down Adda52 ₹65K High Roller For ₹14.50 Lakhs

Abhishek Goindi
  • Profile picture
  • Arpit Jain February 10, 2019
  • 3 Minutes Read

The two-day long 2019 Deltin Poker Tournament (DPT) February edition Adda52 ₹65K High Roller hit the floors at the floating Casino Deltin Royale in Goa on February 8 and has finally named a champion in Abhishek Goindi (cover image). After several hours of competitive play, Goindi defeated an 86- strong entry field and his heads-up opponent Pradeep Sharma to claim the title and top prize of ₹14.50 Lakhs.

The 38 Day 1 survivors were joined by four late registrations on Day 2 and Goindi was one of them. Well known on the domestic circuit, Goindi was a regular at domestic as well as international events back in 2012-2013. Most recently in 2017, Goindi posted two big scores, one in the DPT ₹15K PLO (3rd for ₹2,10,000) and the other in the ₹50K NLHE Main Event (17th for ₹55,000).

Goindi seems to have been on a short sabbatical from regular poker off-late primarily due to his work at online poker company Adda52, but he is back now and how with a smashing score at the ongoing series! Though this win is a very distant second to Goindi’s career-best runner-up place finish in the 2012 Macau Poker Cup HK$11,000 NLHE Red Dragon Main Event (2nd for $136,245 – ₹96,97,306), this is his best cash on home soil and his second best live score till date.


Day 2 Recap

The second and final day of the Adda52 ₹65K High Roller was off the starting blocks late afternoon. The 38 Day 1 survivors were joined by four more players, taking the starting count to 42 runners that made for a total field size of 86 entries in the event.

One of the first players to hit the rail was Wilson Yamso when his were cracked by PokerGuru Staking’s Vikram ‘Lungi’ Kumar who held . With the board offering no help to Yamso, Kumar’s ace kicker brought about the former’s elimination.

Over the course of play, several interesting hands took place. Team PokerGuru Ambassador Jayjit Ray went head-to-head against Deepak Singh. With board open , Ray’s won him a big pot, as Singh mucked his cards.

Team PokerGuru Ambassador Tathagata Sengupta‘s run in the ₹65K High Roller came to end when his fell short against Prateer Mittal‘s .

2018 WSOP bracelet winner and ₹15K Deep Dive NLH champion Nikita Luther was eyeing back-to-back titles but her run was cut short in level 15. Luther jammed from the button with and Harshit Chopra called from big blind with . The board fanned out missing both players and Chopra’s pocket deuces held up leading to Luther’s exit. Luther however will be looking to make up for this in the Main Event today where she is one of top stacks among 108 runners.

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Shashank Jain – 9,94,000
  2. Abhishak Goindi – 5,67,000
  3. Somashekar K.M – 4,62,000
  4. Alok Birewal – 3,42,000
  5. Eka Vedantham – 2,59,000
  6. Jayjit Ray – 2,50,000
  7. Jai Saha – 2,44,000
  8. Pradeep Sharma – 1,45,000
  9. Ujjwal Narwal – 69,000


Final Table Recap

The very first elimination on the nine-handed final table was an incredible double knock-out. PokerGuru Ambassador and our latest Young Gun Jayjit Ray raised to 24,000 from under-the-gun with . Somashekar K.M., who was seated to his left, called with . Action folded to Young Gun Ujjwal Narwal and he moved all-in from the big blind with . Ray and Somashekar re-shoved all-in. The board ran and Somashekhar, who had the other two players covered, took down the pot resulting in Narwal’s elimination in ninth place, while Ray exited in eighth place.

The pace of eliminations slowed down thereafter with almost one hour of small ball poker. Pradeep Sharma managed to manoeuvre his short stack and even doubled up through Somashekar. The eventual champion Goindi made some pretty impressive moves and picked up a few good spots to rake in chips along the way.

In a huge hand, Somashekar opened to 39,000 holding and found one caller in chip leader Shashank Jain who held pocket eights. Jain hit a full house on the flop and Somashekar fired a bet of 54,000. Jain called and the turn opened the on which Somashekar continued with 100,000. Jain calls and the river was the . Somashekar now decided to bet over 170,000 with complete air and Jain caught his bluff, making the call and scooped the massive pot.

Somashekar bled out more chips when he doubled Eka Vedantham and soon became the short stack at the table. However, after making some incredible folds, he then managed to send Alok Birewar packing. Birewar open shoved from the button with and Somashekar made a quick call with . Somashekar hit the top pair on the turn busting Birewar in seventh place.

Somashekar’s swingy run continued as he soon lost a huge pot to Pradeep Sharma. Jain opened for 45,000 and action folded to Pradeep Sharma who moved all-in with . Somashekar woke up with pocket kings and re-shoved over the top and the initial raiser Jain moved out of the way. Somashekar looked good on the flop but an ace on the turn and another ace on the river sealed the pot for Sharma.

The next elimination was Eka Vedantham who open shoved his short stack with and action folded to Jai Saha who made the call tabling pocket queens. Saha flopped a set ending Vedantham`s deep run in the High Roller.

Somashekar KM’s roller coaster ride finally ended in fifth place with Day 1 chip leader Jai Saha following him to the rail in fourth place.

Down to 3-handed, Shashank Jain who was the chip leader for the majority of the final table ran into some bad hands and soon made an exit, leaving Goindi and Pradeep Sharma in contention for the title.

Sharma started the heads-up match with an overwhelming chip lead but Goindi doubled up in the very first hand to even things out. The heads-up match lasted for around half hour and in the final hand, Sharma moved all in for 750,000 holding . Goindi called with . The board blanked out and Goindi secured the title with king-high. Pradeep settled for runner-up spot for ₹9.90 Lakhs, while Goindi walked away with a cool ₹14.50 Lakhs payday along with the bragging rights of winning the DPT ₹65K High Roller! The celebrations however will have to wait, as Goindi is also running deep in the ₹35K Main Event where he has made Day 2 with a stack of 124,000.

Abhishek Goindi
Abhishek Goindi

Final Table Results

  1. Abhishek Goindi – ₹14,50,000
  2. Pradeep Sharma – ₹9,90,000
  3. Shashank Jain – ₹6,20,000
  4. Jai Saha – ₹4,80,000
  5. Somashekar KM – ₹3,50,000
  6. Eka Vedantham – ₹3,00,000
  7. Alok Birewar – ₹2,45,000
  8. Jayjit Ray – ₹2,20,000
  9. Ujjwal Narwal – ₹1,95,400


2019 DPT Adda52 ₹65K High Roller Final Table Livestream

2019 DPT Adda52 ₹65K High Roller Heads-up Livestream

Content & Images Courtesy: onlinepokernews.in

Keep following PokerGuru for more exciting updates from the 2019 DPT February Edition!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms