IndiaPlays - Hand Challenge - Sticky

DPT July 2018: Rajeev Kanjani & Nishant Sharma Lead 47 Survivors From Main Event Day 1B; Day 1C Attracts the Largest Field of 225 Entries

DPT July 2018: Rajeev Kanjani & Nishant Sharma Lead 47 Survivors From Main Event Day 1B; Day 1C Attracts the Largest Field of 225 Entries
  • Profile picture
  • PG News July 29, 2018
  • 8 mins Read

The ₹35K Main Event at the 2018 Deltin Poker Tournament (DPT) got off to a blistering start with Day 1A attracting 80 entries, of which 27 players made it to Day 2. Now after the remaining two Main Event opening flights that ran simultaneously yesterday, Rajeev Kanjani (278,000) and India`a rising poker star Nishant Sharma (264,000) lead the 47 remaining players from Day 1B while Santosh Suvarna (200,000) and Rajnish Kumar (173,000) featured among the top stacks after Day 1C.

Taking advantage of the format, several players who were eliminated on Day 1A fired bullets on Day 1B and 1C including Adda52 Team Pro Amit Jain, Anant Thapar, Deepak Tulani and Bharat Agarwalla.

Day 1B drew in 153 entries of which only 47 players survived the days play, with Day 1C registering the biggest field of 225 entries amongst all three starting flights. In total the Main Event resistered 458 runners and is most definitely heading towards a nail-biting finish!

Day 1B & 1C Recap

The second starting flight opened with 60 players in the field including Meherzad Munsaf, Rajat Jain, Maria Kirloskar, Rajeev Kanjani, Bobbe Suri, Mayank Agarwal and Avinash T.

Looking to try his luck for a second time, Amit Jain entered Day 1B, but his time at the felts was once again short-lived as he busted after losing back-to-back pots in level three. First up, Jain’s could not hold on against Abhishek Chinya’s with the board running . In the next hand, Amit went head-to-head with Akshay Jain. While the former held , the latter tabled . The showdown , gave Akshay Jain a pair of nines ending Amit Jain’s run in the Main Event.

Recently back from WSOP, Mayank Jaggi, was also seen in action. In a hand against Vinay B, Jaggi won a massive pot when his pocket kings defeated Vinay’s pocket queens resulting in the latter`s exit from Day 1B. It seems that Jaggi is looking to continue with his good form with a deep run in the Main Event.

The late registration for Day 1B closed after level 9 and the final player pool stood at 153 entries. Right around the same time, Day 1C started.

In one of the early hands of Day 1C, the Team Manager for the Global Poker League (GPL) India Team Mumbai Jetsetters Kavin Shah was up against Vinay B. After the latter’s early exit from Day 1B, Vinay was able to win a pot against Shah when his held up against Shah’s , with the community cards missing both players.

The winner of the April 2018 DPT ₹100K High Roller and GPL India Bengaluru Hackers Team Manager Vidwath Shetty entered the Main Event through Day 1C. He got to work fast and almost immediately doubled up through Abhishek Jalan. Jalan opened for 1,400 from under-the-gun and Shetty called from the button, along with the blinds. The flop fell . Action checked to Shetty who raised to 2,600 forcing the blinds to fold. Jalan called to see the turn and check-called a bet of 1,500 from Shetty. The completed the rundown and Jalan checked again as Shetty went all-in for 7,000. Jalan called. Shetty tabled his hand revealing quad aces and Jalan mucked his cards.

Vidwath Shetty
Vidwath Shetty

The completion of the late registration period on Day 1C declared a player pool of 225 entries. Soon thereafter, Pranjal Joshi‘s pocket rockets were cracked by Ashutosh Naik’s pocket kings, when Naik flopped a set of kings on the board .

Santosh Suvarna (200,000) and Rajnish Kumar (173,000) are amongst the top stacks of Day 1C, however, the number of players who made it to Day 2 from the final starting flight was not available.

Rajeev Kanjani
Rajeev Kanjani

Top 10 Chip Counts At The End of Day 1B

1. Rajeev Kanjani – 278,000

2. Nishant Sharma – 264,000

3. Unknown – 219,500

4. Mayank Agarwal -186,200

5. Kunal Punjwani – 178,600

6. Vivek Singh – 165,400

7. P. Saini – 146,900

8. Manish Lakhotia – 141,800

9. Abhishek Chinay – 109,600

10. Shravan Chhabria – 102,700

Content and Image Courtesy:

For more updates of the 2018 DPT July edition, stay tuned on PokerGuru!

Related Articles:

1. DPT July 2018: ₹65K High Roller Opens With 166 Entries; Jugal Advani, Amrita Sethi, Farukh Shaikh & Eka Vedantham Lead 62 Survivors

2. DPT July 2018: Day 1A of ₹35K Main Event Attracts 80 Entries, Shyam Jogi & Gaurav Gupta Bag Top Stacks

3. DPT July 2018: Jasven Saigal Wins ₹15K Deep Dive NLH For ₹10.77 Lakhs

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms