Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

DPT Xpress 2018: Bhola Sharma Wins ₹15K Main Event For ₹3.40 Lakhs

Bhola Sharma
  • Profile picture
  • PG News September 30, 2018
  • 6 Mins Read

The four-event long Deltin Poker Tournament Express (DPTX) is on its last legs and has already crowned three winners. The latest champion is local pro Bhola Sharma (cover image), who crushed the 67-strong entry field in the ₹15K Main Event to claim the DPTX trophy and first-place prize money of ₹3.40 Lakhs.

The Main Event was certainly the star attraction at the series as several familiar faces were seen in action including Deepak Raina, ₹10K Bounty winner Prashant Malik, Burn N Turn winner Vivek Anand Baksey, Babita Agarwal, Shivam Shukla, Karan Sawhney, Ankit Takle and Rajiv Sachdeva, among others.

Hosted at the Casino Deltin Denzong in Hotel Denzong Residency, the event opened with 43 runners. With late registrations open till the end of level 8 and upto 2 re-entries allowed per player, the field size swelled to 67 entries (53 unique entries and 14 re-entries) by the time the late registrations and re-entries were done.

Following Ayush Agarwal‘s 10th place elimination at the hands of Vikash Shah, the nine-player final table was set up. Since only the top nine places would receive payouts, Agarwal not only bubbled the final table but also picked up the unfortunate money bubble tag.

Final Table Chip Counts

1. Bhola Sharma – 2,61,000

2. Srinivas Balasubramanian – 2,49,000

3. Vikash Shah – 1,59,000

4. Manjit Jajoo – 1,20,000

5. Mahipal Vala – 72,000

6. Deepak Raina – 48,000

7. Pena Ladakhi – 46,000

8. Cyrus Sidhwa – 30,000

9. Jason Pareira – 18,000

Final Table Recap

Short-stacked Jason Pareira failed to stay at the final table for long. Deepak Raina raised from middle position while Pareira and Vikash Shah called from the blinds to see the flop card 2card 2card 3. Raina moved all-in and Pareira called, while Shah folded.

Deepak Raina card 3card 3

Jason Pareira card 3card 3

The turn brought card 2 and the card 3 river completed the board. Raina picked up two pairs, eliminating Pareira in ninth place.

Soon thereafter Cyrus Sidhwa’s card 2card 3 ran into Shah’s card 1card 3. With the board running card 2card 1card 3card 2card 3, Shah rivered a straight eliminating Sidhwa in eighth place.

Finishing in seventh place was another short-stacked player Mahipal Vala, who jammed from the hijack with card 2card 2 against Pena Ladakhi, who called tabling card 2card 2. The community cards brought card 3card 2card 1card 2card 2 and both players picked up diamonds flush on the river. However, Ladakhi had the better flush rsulting in Vala`s elimination in seventh place.

During level 16, Bhola Sharma opened to 25,000 from under-the-gun and Srinivas Balasubramanian re-raised to 65,000 from the small blind. Sharma jammed for 318,000 and Balasubramanian called for his remaining 105,000.

Bhola Sharma card 3card 3

Srinivas Balasubramanian card 3card 1

The runout card 3card 3card 2card 2card 2 missed both players but Sharma’s higher pair won him the pot, eliminating Balasubramanian in sixth place.

A short while later, Vikash Shah checked from the big blind and Manjit Jajoo called to see the flop card 2card 1card 1. Both players checked through the turn card 2 and river card 3. Shah moved all-in for 37,000 holding card 3card 3 and Jajoo called with card 2card 1. Jajoo’s higher two pairs knocked out Shah in fifth place.

Down to four-handed play, Deepak Raina shoved all-in from the button and Sharma immediately called from small blind.

Deepak Raina card 1card 2

Bhola Sharma card 3card 2

The board spread out card 3card 3card 2card 1card 3 and Sharma made three-of-a-kind kings on the turn, thereby eliminating Raina in fourth place.

Next to depart was Manjit Jajoo, who called for 30,000 from the button and Sharma raised to 130,000 in big blind. Jajoo moved all-in with card 3card 3, Sharma snap-called and turned over card 2card 1. The dealer dealt card 3card 3card 3card 3card 1 on the board, giving Sharma a full house that emded Jajoo’s run in third place.

The heads-up confrontation between Bhola Sharma and Pena Ladakhi lasted for about an hour. On the final hand of the event, Sharma moved all-in from the button and Ladakhi called.

Bhola Sharma card 1card 2

Pena Ladakhi card 2card 3

The community cards ran card 1card 3card 2card 3card 3. While Ladakhi flopped a pair of sixes, it wasn’t enough against Sharma’s pocket tens and Ladakhi was relegated to the runner-up spot, while Sharma claimed the Main Event trophy and the top prize of ₹3,40,000.

Bhola Sharma
Bhola Sharma

Final Table Results (INR)

1. Bhola Sharma – ₹3,40,000

2. Pena Ladakhi – ₹1,95,000

3. Manjit Jajoo – ₹1,20,000

4. Deepak Raina – ₹86,000

5. Vikash Shah – ₹65,000

6. Srinivas Balasubramanian – ₹50,000

7. Mahipal Vala – ₹44,850

8. Cyrus Sidhwa – ₹39,000

9. Jason Pereira – ₹35,000

The last day of the series has been kept open for the players to decide what to play from options like a Teams event, Heads-up Event or a Satellite event for the upcoming World Poker Tour India edition that is set to take place in November later this year.

Keep following all the latest updates from DPT Xpress right here on PokerGuru!

Related Articles:

1. DPT Xpress 2018: Prashant Malik Wins 10K Bounty For ₹90,000

2. DPT Xpress 2018: Vivek Anand Baskey Wins Series Opener Burn N Turn Event For ₹1.55 Lakhs

3. DPT Xpress 2018: Series Kicks Off With Burn ‘N’ Turn Event at Casino Deltin Denzong in Sikkim

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms