Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Paul Domb & Jack Shea Emerge as the Big Winners at the 2019 Seminole Hard Rock May Deep Stack Poker Series

Paul Domb & Jack Shea SHR
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh 1 year ago
  • 2 Minutes Read

Hollywood’s famed live poker hub – the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino played stage to the 2019 Seminole Hard Rock May Deep Stack Poker Series from May 16-27. The series offered eight tournaments ranging in buy-ins as low as $130, to as high as $1,650 and saw Paul Domb & Jack Shea taking down the two biggest events on the schedule.

Domb won the $1,650 NLHE Deepest Stack where he topped a field of 251 runners. He collected $58,333 in prize money courtesy a four-way deal, and all of this money will be going towards a noble cause – Domb runs a charitable organization called Visual Snow Initiative for people suffering from the neurological disorder, and like all his prior poker winnings, these too will be donated to the good cause. “I got lucky in all the places where I needed to get lucky and that’s why I ended up winning. It wasn’t because I’m a great poker player. I’m relying on luck, more than I am on skills. You just hang in there and try to have fun. Or at least I try to have fun and not take it too seriously,” said Domb.

Another event that pulled in a big crowd was the $560 Deeper Stack NLH. A total of 317 entries registered for the event, and at the end, it was Jack Shea who outlasted them all to take home his very first title. “I’ve chopped one, but I’ve never played one out, so this is number one,” Shea said, after taking down the event for $34,328. “It’s a big relief. But it’s just prep for this summer. Bigger things this summer, hopefully.”

Interestingly, along with the title, Shea had also won a seat into the $1,650 Deepest Stack NLHE, but he failed to make much of it.

The other winners at the stop were Marquis Grant ($150 Deep Stack Turbo for $2,511), Rollin Hernandez ($130 Deep Stack for $2,926), Victor Milian ($150 Deep Stack Turbo Double Green Chip Bounty for $2,202), and Eran Zur ($150 Deep Stack Turbo for $3,224).

Now that the series is over, the next big event for the venue will be the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open (SHRPO) that takes place from August 1-13.


$1,650 NLHE Deepest Stack

The three starting flights at the event brought in 251 entries making for a $376,500 prize pool – $86,505 of which was reserved for the winner. A four-way deal on the final table, however, saw the eventual winner Paul Domb take home $58,333 in prize money.

Domb was near about the average stack when Day 2 kicked off with 77 survivors in the fray, but he worked himself up to become the second largest stack by the time the final table began.

In the running for the title were several poker heavyweights like Loni Harwood, Phil Hui, Brian Hastings, Ian O’Hara, and Josh Beckley, but none of them could even manage a min-cash that was worth $2,590.

The top 32 places were paid and in the cashes list were names like Joshua Hood (12th for $7,361), Luke Graham (19th for $4,349), defending champion Chris Bolek (24th for $3,426), Michael Newman (29th for $2,590) and Daniel Chalifour (31st for $2,590).


Final Table Recap

Early action on the final table saw Hassan Tahsildar (9th), Aaron Klausman (8th) and Javier Ramirez (7th) hitting the rails first.

Jack Battaglla was eliminated in sixth place after he three-bet all in with and got looked up by Salman Jaddi holding . Jaddi collected the pot on the runout eliminating Battaglla in the process.

Next to leave was Scott Zakheim. He moved all in for 830,000 with against Timothy Miles’ . The board ran and outdone by Miles, Zakheim left in fifth place.

The remaining four players started discussing a deal and soon shook hands on an ICM chop based on which Allen Kessler finished fourth, Salman Jaddi took third place, Timothy Miles finished runner-up while Domb was adjudicated the winner and took home the biggest share of the prize money as well.

Paul Domb
Paul Domb wins $1,650 NLHE Deepest Stack

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Paul Domb – $58,333
  2. Timothy Miles – $57,738
  3. Salman Jaddi – $52,750
  4. Allen Kessler – $40,540
  5. Scott Zakheim – $18,128
  6. Jack Battaglla – $15,022
  7. Javier Ramirez – $12,613
  8. Aaron Klausman – $10,542
  9. Hassan Tahsilbar – $8,652


$560 Deeper Stack NLH

The third event on the series’ schedule, the $560 Deeper Stack NLH recorded 316 entries. Running through this field to win his career-first title was poker pro Jack Shea. Shea had to navigate a tough field on his way to victory, and his biggest hurdle was Jeff Charlton. Charlton had wreaked havoc on the final table and was responsible for the majority of the eliminations. Eventually, though, Charlton settled for a runner-up finish with Shea getting the better of him in the heads-up play.

“I ran pure. Very pure. I started with a two outer and then a one outer and then we just had to make it worth it. Charlton played great. I just hit every hand heads up to take the lead. And then we had just a standard cooler,” Shea said talking about his heads-up fight with Charlton.


Final Table Recap

With Matthew Zarcadoolas out in ninth place at the hands of Blake Robins, it was Charlton`s turn to get into overdrive. He eliminated five players consecutively, namely, Blake Robins (8th), Johann Tiemann (7th), Ricardo Eyzaguirre (6th), Daniel Couzen (5th), and Rick Kalgstein (4th) to take over a commanding chip lead.

Down to three-handed play, Shea got active. In a preflop all-in showdown Steve Karp tabled ace-eight against Shea’s ace-queen. With the board blanking out, Karp was eliminated while Shea got a massive double up.

In the heads-up play, Jeff Charlton practically gave the title away after losing a massive pot with his flush draw to Shea’s two-pair. There was no coming back for Charlton after that, and before long, he moved all in with king-six against Shea’s ace-king. The board ran dry for Charlton once again, and just like that, Shea won his first-ever live title!

Jack Shea
Jack Shea wins $560 Deeper Stack NLH

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Jack Shea – $34,328
  2. Jeff Charlton – $24,074
  3. Steve Karp – $15,484
  4. Rick Kalgstein – $9,820
  5. Daniel Couzens – $7,576
  6. Ricardo Eyzaguirre – $6,273
  7. Johann Tiemann – $5,629
  8. Blake Robins – $4,329
  9. Matthew Zarcadoolas – $3,433


Content & Images Courtesy: Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open & PokerNews

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x