Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Philip Shing Takes Down WSOPC Potawatomi Main Event For $151,284

Philip Shing
  • Profile picture
  • Arpit Jain February 11, 2020
  • 3 Minutes Read

The World Series of Poker Circuit (WSOPC) Potawatomi’s $1,700 buy-in Main Event closed out last night, and posing for the winner pictures at the end of the day was Philip Shing (cover image). Shing claimed his second WSOPC ring along with $151,284 first-place prize money with this win, not to forget a seat into the season-ending 2020 Global Casino Championship.

The event attracted a vast player pool of 524 entrants to form the prize pool worth $793,860, and the top 79 places finished in the money.

Also making it on the payouts list were Indian-origin Pratap Golla (11th for $11,727) and Ravi Raghavan (51st for $3,067), alongside Cody Brinn (18th for $7,980), Patrick Shields (33rd for $3,920), Ryan Scully (39th for $3,277), Allen Kessler (46th for $3,067), Sultan Ahmed (55th for $2,917), Richard Bai (60th for $2,917), Nadya Magnus (65th for $2,819), and Joshua Clanton (78th for $2,770).

The star Indian player at the series, Vishal Patel, who had clinched an impressive two WSOP Circuit gold rings in the run up to the Main Event, went unreported in this event.


Final Table Chip Counts

  1. James Pupillo – 2,700,000
  2. Cero Zuccarello – 2,310,000
  3. Philip Shing – 2,300,000
  4. Ken Donarski – 1,700,000
  5. Fadi Hamad – 1,500,000
  6. Mike Hartzheim – 1,420,000
  7. Marcus Yofon – 1,235,000
  8. Chris Roth – 1,015,000
  9. Javier Zarco – 890,000
  10. John Gallaher – 585,000


Final Table Recap

Almost immediately after the final table play commenced, Javier Zarco was eliminated in 10th place. Ken Donarski opened, Zarco jammed his short stack holding , and Marcus Yofon picked up in the big blind to make the easy call. The board ran c10], and Yofon scooped the pot eliminating Zarco in the process.

Not long after that, Fadi Hamad was eliminated at the hands of James Pupillo. Pupillo opened with and Hamad moved all-in with . The board brought no succor for Hamad, who fell out in ninth place.

Immediately after Hamad’s elimination, the bags were brought out, and the eight surviving players got a day’s break before the finale.


Final Day Recap

First up, Marcus Yofon had his tournament on the line with against Philip Shing’s pocket eights. Shing further hit a set on the board and busted Yofon in eighth place.

After 10 minutes, Mike Hartzheim hit the rail in seventh place. Hartzheim raised with , and Cero Zuccarello called with pocket aces. Hartzheim bet the flop , and Zuccarello called to see the turn . Hartzheim moved all in, Zuccarello snap-called and took down the pot after the river blanked out.

The chips went to and fro for some time before Chris Roth’s departure in sixth place. Roth jammed from the button with c7], but unfortunately for him, Zuccarello woke up with pocket kings in the small blind. Another king on the window sent Roth packing.

Zuccarello incidentally was the next player to fall. After running hot for a while, Zuccarello got crippled and finally got it in with from the big blind. The initial limper, Gallaher, snap-called him with pocket kings and took down the pot.

James Pupillo had finished fourth in the WSOPC Potawatomi Main Event last September, and as it turned out, he met with the same fate this time around as well. The action saw Shing opening with , and Pupillo jammed from the small blind holding [11]. Shing turned a pair of eight’s on the rundown busting Pupillo from the Main Event.

Next up, Shing opened on the button, and John Gallaher moved all-in with . Shing called and went on to take down the pot eliminating Gallaher in third place.

The heads-up between Philip Shing and Ken Donarski lasted only one hand. Shing opened with and and Donarski jammed with . The king-high board did little to further Donarski’s cause, and he took the runner up spot while Shing claimed the title and the $151,284 cash prize that came with it.

Philip Shing
Philip Shing


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Philip Shing – $151,284
  2. Ken Donarski – $93,498
  3. John Gallaher – $68,947
  4. James Pupillo – $51,484
  5. Cero Zuccarello – $38,937
  6. Chris Roth – $29,829
  7. Michael Hartzheim – $23,152
  8. Marcus Yofon – $18,209
  9. Fadi Hamad – $14,514
  10. Javier Zarco – $11,727


Content and Images Courtesy: WSOP

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms