Poker Dream Vietnam: Dhaval Mudgal, Abhinav Iyer & Kunal Patni Headline 7 Indians Advancing to Day 2 of the VN₫ 10 Billion GTD Main Event    

Dhaval Mudgal, Abhinav Iyer & Kunal Patni
  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee Khasnabis October 22, 2022
  • 3 Minutes Read

The Poker Dream Vietnam, hosted at the Hoiana Hotel & Suites KHOS in Quảng Nam, Vietnam, is a day away from wrapping up proceedings. The inaugural series has been a massive success, especially the ongoing VN₫ 10 Billion GTD Main Event that logged in 822 entries through three starting flights, with 192 players progressing to Day 2.

Almost everyone from the small contingent of Indians attending the series locked a seat for Day 2, with celebrated pro Dhaval Mudgal (231,500) leading the charge with the 16th biggest stack. Mudgal won the inaugural WPT Vietnam Main Event back in 2018. The 2022 APPT Manila Event #35: ₱5K Flipout winner will also be looking to recreate his WPT win in this inaugural series.

Dhaval Mudgal
Dhaval Mudgal


WSOP bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer (193,500) will return for Day 2 with an above-average stack, ranked 32nd in chips. The 2019 APT Vietnam Main Event champion is yet to win a live title this year and will be looking to do so in the Poker Dream Main Event.

Abhinav Iyer
Abhinav Iyer


Kunal Patni (184,000) carries a middling stack in the Main Event. The banker-turned-poker pro is the only Indian to win a title in the series and shipped the Mystery Bounty. He is also the only one with two FT scores to his name after his ninth-place finish in the Deepstack on Thursday.

Kunal Patni
Kunal Patni


Young Gun Shardul Parthasarathi (179,500), PokerGuru Ambassador Kartik Ved (177,000), Young Gun Neel Joshi (102,500), and Young Gun Sanat Mehrotra (59,000) are other Indians who will be part of the 192-player starting field on Day 2 of the Main Event today.


Dhaval Mudgal Headlines 7 Indians to Day 2 of the Main Event

The VN₫ 25 Million buy-in Main Event registered 822 entries through three starting flights, successfully shattering its VN₫ 10 Billion guarantee by collecting a whopping VN₫ 17.94 Billion in the prize pool kitty.

Only 192 players made the onward journey to Day 2, and the advancing field includes seven Indian players! Leading the charge for Team India is the musician and poker pro Dhaval Mudgal (231,500). Bracelet winner Abhinav Iyer (193,500), Kunal Patni (184,000), poker coach Shardul Parthasarathi (179,500), this year’s ‘WSOP Indian Star of the Series’ Kartik Ved (177,000), along with Young Guns Neel Joshi (102,500) and Sanat Mehrotra (59,000) are the other Indian contenders in the fray!

Shardul Parthasarathi, Kartik Ved, Neel Joshi & Sanat Mehrotra
Shardul Parthasarathi, Kartik Ved, Neel Joshi & Sanat Mehrotra


The Day 1A chip leader, Korea’s Hojin Kim (310,500), holds the overall chip lead, with Phan Thanh Hung (310,000) and Nguyen Hoang Nam (285,500) carrying the subsequent top stacks.

Hojin Kim
Hojin Kim


Day 2 will commence at 1 PM (local time) on Saturday, October 22. The top 119 places will be paid a min-cash of VN₫ 40.40 Million, with the eventual champion expected to take home a jaw-dropping VN₫ 3.378 Billion!

Top 10 Chip Counts at the Start of Day 2

  1. Hojin Kim – 310,500
  2. Phan Thanh Hung – 310,000
  3. Nguyen Hoang Nam – 285,500
  4. Vincent Huang – 285,000
  5. Jeffrey Tan Pamplona – 280,500
  6. Jenam Yu – 280,500
  7. Tran Hong Chuong – 273,500
  8. Dinh Xuan Dinh – 262,500
  9. Lee Changhwan – 261,500
  10. Ngo Minh Tien – 261,000


Content & Images Courtesy: Poker Dream & So Much Poker

Keep following PokerGuru for all the latest updates from Poker Dream Vietnam!

5 1 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms