Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Poker Masters Online PLO Series: Haxton Ships Main Event, Parssinen Tops Tight Race to Win Purple Jacket

  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh 2 weeks ago
  • 3 Minutes Read

Poker Central`s Poker Masters Online PLO Series is now in the rearview mirror. The PLO-centric high stakes series played out 29 tourneys from June 21 to 29 on partypoker, with mini-versions of most events running alongside the featured tourneys. Bringing the curtains down was the $1.5 M GTD Event #15 Main Event and its mini version – Event #16 Mini Main Event $500K GTD.

The Main Event attracted 29 contenders, and only five of them made it to Day 2. American pro Isaac Haxton, who had entered the final day`s play as the chip leader, maintained his chip advantage to win the title and the $675,000 cash prize.

partypoker even tweeted the results.

The Mini Main Event crowned a champion in Denmark’s Alexander Krojgaard Petersen, who ran past 118 hopefuls to collect $148,624.54.

While the closing day was full of thrills, the penultimate day was also replete with a lot of quality action. Scandinavians were clearly the biggest star in the series. One of the more prominent of them was Finnish online phenom Jens Kyllonen, who walked away with his third title and a $200,000 payday in Event #13 High Roller $250K GTD.

Aku Joentausta also earned as much from his title victory in Event #11 High Roller $500K GTD.

Super High Roller champion Eelis Parssimen was in the chase for his second title in Event #14 High Roller $250K GTD but lost out to Chance Kornuth, who won $100,000.

Nonetheless, with this runner-up finish and five previous final table runs under his belt, Parssimen accrued 625 points on the leaderboard to win a very tight race. Edging past formidable players like Andras Nemeth (624 points) and Jens Kyllonen (612 points), Parssimen won the coveted Purple Jacket and all by a margin of one point! Incidentally, the glory came with a free entry into the Main Event for Parssimen, but he couldn’t convert the opportunity into a prize as he fell out empty-handed in 14th place.

Eelis Parssinen


Event #11 High Roller $500K GTD

The $10,300 buy-in tournament attracted 49 runners. An entry short on the posted guarantee, the final six players, earned a return for their efforts.

Taking top honors was Aku Joentausta, who had to fend off Espen Myrmo in a heads-up match that lasted for over an hour.

Aku Joentausta


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Aku Joentausta – $200,000
  2. Espen Myrmo – $127,972
  3. Sami Kelopuro – $65,000
  4. Viktor Blom – $45,000
  5. Henrik Eide – $35,000
  6. Niklas Astedt – $27,027


Event #13 High Roller $250K GTD

A total of 47 entries entered the $10,300 buy-in Event #13 High Roller $250K GTD. The tourney fell three entries short of breaking event and ran for a good eight hours before handling out Jens Kyllonen, his third title of the series.

Jens Kyllonen


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Jens Kyllonen – $200,000
  2. Matthew Wood – $127,972
  3. Espen Myrmo – $65,000
  4. Stephen Chidwick – $45,000
  5. Niklas Astedt – $35,000
  6. Ludovic Geilich – $27,027


Event #14 High Roller $250K GTD

The $5,200 buy-in Event #14 High Roller also featured a $250K guarantee. 48 players joined the action, again two entries short of the break-even quorum.

Eelis Parssinen stormed his way into the heads-up finale but was denied the chance at a second title by Chance Kornuth. The winner collected $100,000, while Parssinen had to make do with $63,986 for finishing runner-up.

Chance Kornuth
Chance Kornuth


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Chance Kornuth – $100,000
  2. Eelis Parssinen – $63,986.25
  3. Matthew Wood – $32,500
  4. Simon James – $22,500
  5. Andras Nemeth – $17,500
  6. Espen Myrmo – $13,512.75


Event #15 Main Event $1.5 M GTD

A total of 29 players signed up for the $51,000 buy-in Event #15 Main Event $1.5 M GTD. This was one tough field with superstars like Viktor Blom, Sam Trickett, Joni Jouhkimainen, Andras Nemeth, Laszlo Bujtas, and Pascal Lefrancois vying for the action, and the tourney ended up short one entry on meeting the advertised guarantee.

Day 1 ended with five players remaining and Isaac Haxton in the chip lead. The US-based pro didn’t let go of his dominating presence until the end, and eventually, he relegated Grazvydas Kontautas to the runner-up spot to capture the title and the $675,000 first-place prize.

Watch the final table replay below.

Isaac Haxton


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Isaac Haxton – $675,000
  2. Grazvydas Kontautas – $442,104
  3. Aku Joentausta – $225,000
  4. Christopher Kruk – $225,000


Event #16 Mini Main Event $500K GTD

There were 118 entries logged in Event #16 Mini Main Event $500K GTD that helped generate a $590,000 prize pool. While the final 18 spots were assured a payout, only six made it to the last day. Each of them was already in the money for at least $24,485, but everyone was chasing the $148,624 up top.

Denmark’s Alexander Krojgaard Petersen, who had entered the final day`s play in the second chip lead behind Brazil’s Dante Fernandes, eventually came out on top to win the title and $148,624.54.

Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Alexander Krojgaard Petersen – $148,624.54
  2. Dante Fernandes – $100,300
  3. Jens Lakemeier – $70,800
  4. Joachim Harald – $50,150
  5. Joni Jouhkimai – $36,875
  6. Alexander Holm – $24,48
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x