GetMega - Sticky

PSPC 2023: Chris Moorman & Tony Tran Tied Chip Leaders After Day 1; India’s Nikhil Segel Also Advances

PSPC Cover
  • Profile picture
  • RUPAM THAKUR January 31, 2023
  • 3 Minutes Read

After an extended four-year hiatus, the much-anticipated 2023 PokerStars Players No Limit Hold’Em Championship (PSPC) got underway yesterday at the luxurious Baha Mar Resort in Nassau, Bahamas. The second edition of the $25K buy-in rake-free Freezeout poker tournament attracted 1,005 runners on Day 1, and after eight one-hour levels of play, only 678 bagged for Day 2. With late registrations open till the start of level 11 on Day 2, the numbers a bound to go up.

Leading the charge on Day 2 will be British poker pro Chris Moorman and USA’s Tony Tran, who are tied in the chip lead with 356,000 – 237 BBs. Hot on their trail is four-time bracelet winner Josh Arieh (312,500 – 208 BBs), Bastian Hess (295,000 – 197 BBs), and Martin Zamani (287,000 – 191 BBs).

Chris Moorman
Chris Moorman
Tony Tran
Tony Tran


In good news for the Indian rail, one of the three PSPC Platinum Pass winners from the country, Nikhil Segel (67,500 – 45 BBs), was among the Day 1 survivors. Segel, who is the only Indian to win the coveted PSPC Platinum Pass twice, tweeted:

Segal won his first PSPC Platinum Pass in October 2018 in the Jaime Staples‘ hosted My Ultimate Sweat challenge. Four years later, Segel won the coveted PSPC Platinum Pass for an incredible second time – earning it as the community champion pass.

Speaking to us before flying off to the Bahamas, Nikhil Segel confirmed he would be hosting the $50 buy-in Nikhil Segal Platinum Pass Winners Invitational (Event #301) on February 2. The $50 Nikhil Segal PSPC Invitational is open for all Platinum Pass winners who bust out of the event and their plus ones.

Nikhil Segel
Nikhil Segel


Joining Segel in this prestigious event are two other Indian PSPC Platinum Pass winners, Abhinav Iyer and Rajat Sharma. Their progress on Day 1 went unreported.

Several other big names made it to Day 2. These include Roberto Romanello (195,000), Martin Jacobson (110,000), Chris Moneymaker (108,000), Ryan Riess (40,000), Greg Raymer (91,000), PokerStars Pros Sam Grafton (72,500), Andre Akkari (67,500), Arlie Shaban (259,000), Benjamin Spragg (62,500), and Alejandro Lococo (204,000).

Defending champion Ramon Colillas (49,500), who took down the first-ever PSPC in 2019 for $5.10 million, spinning up a Platinum Pass freeroll also bagged for Day 2.

PokerStars streamed the Day 1 action on its YouTube channel. You can watch it below.



Top 10 Chip Counts After Day 1

  1. Chris Moorman – 356,000
  2. Tony Tran – 356,000
  3. Josh Arieh – 312,500
  4. Bastian Hess – 295,000
  5. Martin Zamani – 287,000
  6. Fernando Pons Garcia – 282,500
  7. Arlie Shaban – 259,000
  8. Aaron Olechnowicz – 258,000
  9. Eric Afriat – 250,500
  10. Oskar Prehm – 242,000

Content & Images Courtesy: PokerNews & PokerStars India

Keep following PokerGuru for the latest updates from the 2023 PSPC!

5 1 vote
Article Rating

Related Players

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms