Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Road to PSPC Manila: Dhanesh Chainani Cashes Event #12: ₱10K NLH Hyper Turbo Re-Entry, Christopher Mateo Commands Overall Chip Lead in Main Event After Five Starting Flights

Road to PSPC Manila: Dhanesh Chainani Cashes Event #12
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh September 24, 2022
  • 4 Minutes Read

The PokerStars-powered Road to PSPC Manila, running at the iconic Okada Manila, is moving swiftly towards culmination. Two side events played down to a winner in the last 24 hours, while the biggest attraction at the festival, the ₱10 Million GTD Main Event, completed another two starting flights.

With the Indian contingent split between the World Poker Championship in Vietnam and the Road to PSPC Manila, a small Indian contingent is in attendance at the series.

The Indian pro settled in Singapore, Dhanesh Chainani, was among the 45 players who signed up for Event #12: ₱10K NLH Hyper Turbo Re-Entry and finished fifth for ₱35,400 (₹48,961), posting his first cash of the series.

Dhanesh Chainani
Dhanesh Chainani


Last month, Chainani finished third in the 2022 APPT Manila ₱65,000 Main Event for his second-best live cash worth ₱5,409,000 (~₹77.35 Lakhs), courtesy of a three-way deal.

Local player Edgar Asehan shipped Event #12, winning his fourth PokerStars LIVE title and ₱133,350 (~$2,265) in prize money.

Day 1A chip leader, Singapore’s Jereld Sam, made the ride to the finish line in Event #10, lifting his career-first PokerStars LIVE trophy and ₱149,400 in prize money. He struck a heads-up deal with fellow countryman Jun Lee, who collected a better ₱1,66,700 as the runner-up.

In the ₱10 Million GTD Event #5: ₱22K Main Event, four Indians – Dhanesh Chainani, J Raju, Raja Puttamsetty, and Amanpreet Singh joined the Day 1D flight, but none could advance further. The four players made another attempt on Day 1E, and the Warm-Up champion Naveen Valluri also joined in. Again, neither of them could survive the day`s onslaught.

Naveen Valluri
Naveen Valluri


The 2019 APT Philippines Main Event champion Christopher Mateo (660,000), bagged the most massive stack among the 29 Day 1D survivors. The fourth starting flight got underway at 1 PM (local time) yesterday and recorded 192 entries. Mateo is positioned as the overall chip leader in the Main Event among the 111 survivors across the five starting flights.

Another 199 entrants came in through Day 1E of the Main Event that ran from 7 PM (local time) onwards. Only 30 advanced to Day 2, headlined by the Philippines’ Dan Mendoza (464,000).

The Main Event field has already touched 728 entries, with the sixth and final starting flight getting underway at 12 PM (local time) on Saturday, September 24.


Singapore’s Jereld Sam Wins Event #10: ₱15,000 NLH Knockout (₱5K Bounty) – Single Re-entry For ₱149,400

Event #10: ₱15K NLH Knockout played out in the early hours of Friday! The event brought in 90 hopefuls ( 76 unique players), generating a ₱1,152,360 prize pool (including ₱450,000 in bounties).

The nine-handed final table featured four players from Singapore, and in the end, two players from the country chopped the title heads-up. The Main Event Day 1A chip leader Jereld En Zhi Sam was named the champion and won his career-first PokerStars LIVE trophy and ₱149,400, with Jun Lee banking the bigger payout of ₱1,66,700 in second place.

Team India’s Dhanesh Chainani, J Raju, and Raja Puttamsetty entered the competition, but none survived past the bubble round.

The top 13 players got paid with a min-cash worth ₱14,100.

Jereld Sam
Jereld Sam


Final Table Results (PHP)

  1. Jereld Sam – ₱149,400*
  2. Jun Lee – ₱166,700*
  3. Bin Chiat Tay – ₱85,700
  4. Marco Espela – ₱67,100
  5. Keith Basso – ₱54,100
  6. Jie Hui Chang – ₱42,200
  7. Lim Cheng Jing – ₱33,400
  8. Ellezer Castillo – ₱26,000
  9. Pyeonggyu Jin – ₱19,160

*denotes a heads-up deal


Filipino Edgar Asehan Wins Event #12: ₱10K NLH Hyper Turbo Re-entry For ₱133,350

Event #12: ₱10,000 NLH Hyper Turbo Re-Entry attracted 45 entrants (38 unique players), generating a ₱392,850 (~$6.680) prize pool. Local player Edgar Asehan was the last player standing and won his fourth PokerStars LIVE title for ₱133,350 (~$2,265). Japan’s Kento Chogo finished runner-up for ₱92,400.

The Singapore-based Dhanesh Chainani placed fifth for ₱35,400 (₹48,961), posting his first cash at the series.

Another Indian player Animesh Jain also entered the event but fell out empty-handed.

The top six players got paid, and a min-cash was worth ₱27,500.

Edgar Asehan
Edgar Asehan


Final Table Results (PHP)

  1. Edgar Asehan – ₱133,350
  2. Kento Chogo – ₱92,400
  3. Singo Horikoshi – ₱59,000
  4. Kenji Hata – ₱45,200
  5. Dhanesh Chainani – ₱35,400
  6. Max Menzel – ₱27,500


Event #5: ₱22,000 Main Event – Single Re-entry – Day 1D & Day 1E

Day 1D of the ₱10 Million GTD Event #5: ₱22K Main Event got underway at 1 PM (local time) on September 22. The fourth starting flight locked 192 entries (160 unique players), and 29 advanced to Day 2.

Bagging the most enormous stack in the flight was Filipino player Christopher Mateo (660,000), followed by Japan’s Singo Horikoshi (642,000) and another local player Alexis Lim (473,000).

A group of four Indians, namely Dhanesh Chainani, J Raju, Raja Puttamsetty, and Amanpreet Singh, entered Day 1D, but none succeeded in their efforts to bag a stack.

The Warm-up runner-up finisher Jeffrey Pamplona (171,000), Singapore’s Aaron Lam (66,000), and the Philippines’ Kim Michael Enriquez (61,000) were the other notables who made the onward journey to Day 2.

Christopher Mateo
Christopher Mateo


Top 10 Chip Counts at the End of Day 1D

  1. Christopher Mateo – 660,000
  2. Singo Horikoshi – 642,000
  3. Alexis Lim – 473,000
  4. Noel Llamedo – 459,000
  5. Jonas Rothmund – 375,000
  6. William Teoh – 337,000
  7. Battulga Janag – 319,000
  8. Jerson Quiras – 281,000
  9. James Moriles – 215,000
  10. Christopher Pasion – 211,000


The fifth starting flight, Day 1E, took off at 7 PM (local time). A total of 199 entrants (165 unique players) joined the action, and 30 survived through to Day 2, with the Philippines’ Dan Mendoza (464,000) accumulating the most chips.

Singapore’s Jun Lee (455,000) and Japan’s Yuta Murakami (421,000) bagged the other top stacks on Day 1E.

From India, Dhanesh Chainani, J Raju, Raja Puttamsetty, Amanpreet Singh, and Warm-Up champion Naveen Valluri were in the fray, but all of them crashed out without the end of the play.

The Main Event has recorded 728 entries, with five starting flights in the books. The final flight, i.e., Day 1E, got underway at 12 PM (local time) on Saturday, September 24.

Top 10 Chip Counts at the End of Day 1E

  1. Dan Mendoza – 464,000
  2. Jun Lee – 455,000
  3. Yuta Murakami – 421,000
  4. You Jun Hong – 401,000
  5. Fam Kai Yat – 394,000
  6. Ronn Mesina – 376,000
  7. Maxwell Rosete – 285,000
  8. Chia Wei Chang – 278,000
  9. Rodrigo Sequite – 231,000
  10. Martijn Gerrits – 228,000


Content & Images Courtesy: PokerStars

Keep following PokerGuru for the latest updates from the Road to PSPC Manila!

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Related Players

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms