Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

WPT India: Sriharsha Doddapaneni Wins ₹25K Big Bounty Title For ₹6.63 Lakhs

Sriharsha Doddapaneni Wins WPT Big Bounty
  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee Khasnabis October 19, 2019
  • 4 Minutes Read

The third edition of the World Poker Tour (WPT) India declared yet another champion last night, and this time it was the young and talented Sriharsha Doddapaneni (cover image) posing with the WPT trophy! Outlasting a field of 225 entries, Doddapaneni clinched his first-ever WPT title along with ₹6.63 Lakhs in prize money!

Doddapaneni is a renowned name in both the live and online circuits with a litany of scores on both domains. His claim to fame is the DPT Colossus ₹200K Super High Roller title that he won for a jaw-dropping ₹28.70 Lakhs in April last year. He was also part of the Indian contingent that traveled to WSOP this summer, and he did reasonably well to bag a total of six cashes at the series worth a cumulative $15,041 (₹10.69 Lakhs).

Doddapaneni entered the last day’s play with an above-average stack of 149,000 among 29 survivors, and by the time the play wound down to the final table, he had amassed a stack of 450,000, which was the fourth biggest stack at the table. In fact, he even eliminated poker legend Robert Mizrachi (12th for ₹57,970), on his way to the final table. Mizrachi’s participation in this year’s WPT is evidence of the fact that Indian poker has made its mark on the global map as an increasing number of international poker pros have been making their way to the country to be a part of the live poker scene.

Getting back to Doddapaneni, the up-and-coming star went on to eliminate Aakash Diwan, Anshul Rajput, and eventual runner-up Ranjeet Negi, before capturing the WPT title!

Among the other notables who finished in the money were Aditya Sushant (18th for ₹41,460), Shravan Chhabria (22nd for ₹26,060), Abhishek Goindi (23rd for ₹26,060) and Deepak Bothra (24th for ₹26,060).

Running alongside the final day of the ₹25K Big Bounty, was Day 1A of the 55K Main Event. Due to inclement weather conditions, the start of Day 1A was pushed back from 3 PM to 4 PM. However, following 13 levels of play, a starting field of 227 entries were whittled down to 64 runners with Bhavdeepsingh Jhala Rana bagging the most massive stack. Day 1B will kick off at 2 PM later today, with Day 1C, which is a turbo flight, starting at 11.30 PM. Day 2 will commence at 3 PM on Sunday, October 20.


Day 2 Recap

The first player to be eliminated on the final day was Roshan Rodrigues when his ran into Masood Peeru’s , making Rodrigues the first runner to cross the money line, finishing 29th for ₹19,500.

Nineteen more eliminations took place after that, which led to the commencement of the nine-handed final table.

Among the notables who fell out short of the final table were Abhishek Tibrewala (13th for ₹49,720), Aditya Sushant (18th for ₹41,460), Deepak Singh (19th for ₹33,210), Shravan Chhabria (22nd for ₹26,060), Abhishek Goindi (23rd for ₹26,060) and start of the day chip leader Deepak Bothra (24th for ₹26,060).

Poker superstar and four-time WSOP bracelet winner Robert Mizrachi picked up his first score on Indian soil last night – falling to eventual champion Sriharsha Doddapaneni in the end. Doddapaneni raised to 32,000 from UTG, and Mizrachi moved all-in from the cutoff with 78,000. Doddapaneni called, tabling and Mizrachi turned over . The board was inconsequential and Doddapaneni’s ace-ten held on, eliminating Mizrachi in 12th place for ₹57,970.

Robert Mizrachi
Robert Mizrachi

Amit Gaikwad bubbled the final table when his pocket fives were bested by Anshul Rajput’s , which clipped three-of-a-kind kings on the board, ending the former’s run in 10th place for ₹57,970.


Final Table Chip Counts

1. Anshul Rajput – 1,466,000

2. Karan Kapoor – 640,000

3. Ranjeet Negi – 505,000

4. Sriharsha Doddapaneni – 450,000

5. Kaushal Samant – 370,00

6. Tanmai Relwani – 365,000

7. Sravanth Reddy – 310,000

8. Akash Diwan – 250,000

9. Anshul Garg – 140,000

WPT ₹25K Big Bounty Final Table
WPT ₹25K Big Bounty Final Table


Final Table Recap

Being the shortest stack at the start of the final table, Anshul Garg was also the first player to hit the rail. Karan Kapoor opened from UTG to 45,000, and Garg jammed from the small blind for 150,000 with . Kapoor called with . The board blanked eliminating Garg in ninth place.

In the next level, Tanmai Relwani departed from the final table when his were defeated by Aakash Diwan’s which flopped a pair of kings, resulting in Relwani’s eighth-place finish.

Soon after that, Kaushal Samant shoved all-in from the hijack seat with , and Ranjeet Negi called holding . Though Samant was in the lead preflop, the flop turned the tide in Negi’s favor. The turn gave Negi a full house, and the river bricked, ending Samant’s run in seventh place.

Karan Kapoor became Negi’s next victim when the former moved all-in with , and Negi called with . Negi flopped a full house on the runout dismissing Kapoor in sixth place.

Five-handed play continued for three more levels before Aakash Diwan open-raised to 110,000 from UTG, and Sravanth Reddy called from the cutoff to see the flop open . Diwan moved all-in with and Reddy called with . The and on the next two streets were of no help to Reddy, ousting him in fifth place.

Despite eliminating Reddy, Aakash Diwan could not extend his stay at the final table for much longer. In a battle of the blinds, Sriharsha Doddapaneni moved all-in from the small blind with , and Diwan called from the big blind holding . The community cards spread out , and Doddapaneni rivered three-of-a-kind fives, bouncing Diwan out in fourth place.

Finishing in third place was start-of-the-final table chip leader Anshul Rajput. Doddapaneni was in the thick of the action yet again when he raised to 170,000 with , and Rajput jammed all-in with . The board saw Rajput hit a flush on the river, but it was no match for Doddapaneni’s full house, sending the former to the rail.

The heads-up between Sriharsha Doddapaneni (2.875 Million) and Ranjeet Negi (1.620 Million) kicked off with the former in the lead, which he held onto till the very end. Being the most experienced player on the final table, Doddapaneni employed his years of knowledge to eventually clinch the title.

WPT ₹25K Big Bounty Heads-Up Between Sriharsha Doddapaneni & Ranjeet Negi
WPT ₹25K Big Bounty Heads-Up Between Sriharsha Doddapaneni & Ranjeet Negi

On the final hand, Doddapaneni led out for 200,000, and Negi called. The flop fell . Both players checked to see the turn card . Doddapaneni checked again, and Negi fired a bet of 250,000. Doddapaneni raised it to 600,000, and Negi moved all-in for about 1.7 Million. Doddapaneni called, and the river came . Negi showed , but Doddapaneni’s won him the pot with flopped trip fours. Negi had to contend with a runner-up finish, while Doddapaneni walked away with his career-first WPT title, along with an impressive ₹6.63 Lakhs payday!

Sriharsha Doddapaneni
Sriharsha Doddapaneni

Final Table Results (INR)

1. Sriharsha Doddapaneni – ₹6,63,830

2. Ranjeet Negi – ₹4,66,150

3. Anshul Rajput – ₹2,88,740

4. Aakash Diwan – ₹1,75,640

5. Sravanth Reddy – ₹1,35,640

6. Karan Kapoor – ₹1,12,400

7. Kaushal Samant – ₹95,780

8. Tanmai Relwani – ₹81,700

9. Anshul Garg – ₹66,400

Content and Images Courtesy: Online Poker News, India

Keep following PokerGuru for all the updates from WPT India!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms