Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

TIPS 2020: Antonio Castro Bags Chip Lead on Day 1A of the Spanish Cup; Dawer, Dewan & Munjal in Attendance

TIPS 2020 Spanish Cup Day 1A
  • Profile picture
  • Attreyee K. Ganguly February 4, 2020
  • 2 Minutes Read

The much-awaited The Indian Poker Series (TIPS) is back for its third season! Hosted, as always, at one of Europe’s largest casinos – Kings Casino in Rozvadov, Czech Republic – the series kicked off on February 3 in collaboration with the Spanish Poker Festival (SPF). The series opener, Spanish Cup, commenced with its first starting flight, Day 1A, which pulled in 251 entries. Only 53 runners made it through to Day 2, with Antonio Castro bagging the most massive stack of 449,000 at the end of the day.

Several Indian challengers were seen in action, including Jaydeep Dawer, Himanshu Dewan, and Avneesh Munjal; however, neither of them made the cut for Day 2.

Featuring a €115 (~₹9,048) buy-in, the Spanish Cup boasts of a €50,000 (~₹39.34 Lakhs) guarantee. The players who failed to make the cut on Day 1A will be able to try their luck on Day 1B and 1C that is to take place at 6 PM on February 4 and 10 PM on February 5, respectively.


Day 1A Recap

TIPS 2020 started off with Day 1A of the Spanish Cup at the King’s Casino. With late registrations open till the end of Level 12, a total of 251 entries were logged in. Following 16 levels of play, only 53 players remained in the fray.

Antonio Castro amassed the most towering stack of 449,000 and will lead the remaining survivors to Day 2.

Three Indian contenders had also featured in the Day 1A proceedings, namely TIPS co-founder Jaydeep Dawer, Himanshu Dewan, and Avneesh Munjal. Sadly, none of the three players could advance to Day 2 from the first starting flight.

Jaydeep Dawer, Himanshu Dewan & Avneesh Munjal
Jaydeep Dawer, Himanshu Dewan & Avneesh Munjal

Top 10 Chip Counts at the End of Day 1A

1. Antonio Castro – 449,000
2. Juan Jose Carro Roldan – 426,000
3. Sergio Garcia Pau – 424,000
4. Kevin Jose Eroles Dejoz – 390,000
5. Rodrigo Corzo – 364,000
6. Yeray Maestre Perez – 335,000
7. Radko Krastev Dimitrov – 326,000
8. Josep Pastor De Ramon – 324,000
9. Jeremy Trojand – 270,000
10. Marc Bayo Monllao – 269,000

Content & Images Courtesy: King’s Casino

Keep following PokerGuru for more updates from the TIPS Season 3!

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms