Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

Tournament Report: India Poker Pros 2nd Edition

Tournament Report: India Poker Pros 2nd Edition
  • Profile picture
  • PG News October 5, 2011
  • 4 Minutes Read

The 2nd Edition of India Poker Pros saw an exciting 5 days of poker action at Casino Royale, Goa. India Poker Pros made a few changes from its 1st Edition by extending the series by an extra day and dropping the shoot-out event, instead adding a Bounty tournament in the 2nd Edition. They also introduced for the 1st time in India a Ladies only 5K Freeze out event on the final day while maintained the evening starts (i.e. 6 pm and 4 pm) for all events which have been well accepted in the past.

We have a brief summary of each event for you!

Day 1 – Wed 28th Sep 2011 at 6 PM- 5K Turbo Freeze-out and Re-entry

The India Poker Pros opening event saw some faced paced action as expected from a turbo tournament and though the event started with a field of only 35 players, the number swelled to 57 with late registrants joining the event later in the day. The India Poker Pros has been a major attraction for many Indian Poker Pros and those in attendance included regulars like Abhishek Goindi, Prabhat Mukherjea, Farukh Shaikh, Anosh Patel, Ashutosh Naik and Rahul Melwani among many others. Team Pokerguru Pros were also present in full strength and they surely made their presence felt with 3 Team Pros making their way to the Final Table i.e. Aditya ‘Intervention’ Agarwal, Jasven Saigal and Amit Varma. Intervention was the unfortunate money bubble but Amit Varma more than compensated by booking a convincing win at this opening event thereby finally clinching a title, which had been long eluding him. He took home ₹1, 07,000 in prize money.

Read the complete coverage of this event here.

The payouts for the event were

1Amit Varma1,07,000
2Hemant Arora66,000
3Rajesh Arul38,000
4Farukh Shaikh25,000
5Jasven Saigal20,500
Day 2 – Thurs 29th Sep 2011 at 6 PM – 5K Double Re-Buy

Day 2 started off with 32 initial entries but reached 54 entries by the end of the late registration period. The total prizepool swelled to ₹6, 57,500 after re-buys and top 6 players were paid. Event 1 runner-up Hemant Arora was the first casualty on the final table when his A 7 did not hold against Lawrence Sanjay`s K 9. Bangalore based Rahul Melwani was the unfortunate bubble boy. Worthy of mention is a remarkable comeback by Coimbatore based Lawrence Sanjay – a tournament regular who at one time had only one big blind in chips left on the final table but a little luck and some daring calls was all he needed to add yet another title to his name!

Read the complete coverage of this event here.

The payouts were

1Lawrence Sanjay2,60,000
2Paras Perry1,55,000
3Amit Sur1,00,000
4Anosh Patel67,500
5Paras Chakravati45,000
6Rithin Punjala30,000

12K Bounty Tournament was a new addition at India Poker Pros 2nd Edition and drew a respectable field of 51 players. 10K from the buy-in went to the main prizepool and 2K was the bounty on each player eliminated. India Poker Pros introduced a new Chocolate Bounty concept where players who won bounties were presented with IPP Branded Chocolates!

Day 3 – Fri 30th Sep 2011 at 6 PM – 12K Bounty

Final Table Chip Counts were

1st – Avinash Dixit – 64,600 chips
2nd – Varad Patil – 60,400 chips
3rd – Rajesh Arul – 50,800 chips
4th – Rishi Mishra – 49,900 chips
5th – Abhishek Goindi – 47,700 chips
6th – Amit Sur – 34,100 chips
7th – Roshan Rodrigues – 33,200 chips
8th – Praveen Agarwal – 29,400 chips
9th – Paras Kumar – 12,500 chips

The final table was a fierce and aggressive battle with many early eliminations. Roshan Rodrigues was the money bubble when his pocket fours were clobbered by Varad Patil`s A J. Mumbai based Rishi Mishra was the last man standing when he rivered a flush on the final hand against Varad Patil to become the IPP 12K Bounty Champion making an impressive 8 eliminations on his way to this title.

Read the complete coverage of this event here.

The payouts were:

1Rishi Mishra2,00,000
2Varad Patil1,15,000
3Rajesh Arul67,000
4Abhishek Goindi45,000
5Avinash Dixit32,000

The 20K Freeze out Main event was the highlight of the IPP Tournament weekend. In addition to the huge prizepool, major attractions included the glamorous models that walked down the finalists to the final table. The event was videographed by India Poker Pros and the footage will be released by them in due time on their Youtube Chanel. Team IPP made a commendable finish with Anosh Patel and Farukh Shaikh finishing 2nd and 3rd respectively. Both were eliminated by Sumit Kothari who went on to win the tournament. Another first at the 2nd edition of IPP was the money finish by a lady player – Rachel Gurjar.

Read the complete coverage of this event here.

Day 4 – Sat 1st Oct 2011 at 4 PM – 20K Freeze out Main Event

The payouts were:

1Sumit Kothari400000
2Anosh Patel260000
3Farukh Shaikh167000
4Atul Daga100000
5Tejas Chillal80000
6Rajesh Raj55000
7Rachel Gurjar44000


Day 5 – Sun 2nd Oct 2011 at 4 PM – 10K Freeze out and Re-entry/5K Freezeout Ladies Event.

On Day 5 there were 2 events taking place – a 10K Freezeout event and the inaugural ladies event. The day surely belonged to the Dhody family with the Husband-Wife duo Jasprit “Jazz” Dhody and Prabhjot Kaur both making impressive finishes in their respective events. While Jazz went on to win the 10K Freezeout event, Prabhjot narrowly missed making it a double whammy for the Dhody household when she finished runner up to Sudha Kedia at the ladies event.

Read the complete coverage of this event here.

1Jasprit Dhody210000
2Abbas Ali120000
3Aditya Sushant78000
4Debarsi Chatterji52000
5Rahul Melwani36000
6Krishna SM26000

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms