Wide Banner 728

Wide Banner 728

WPT India: Deepak Bothra Takes Down PLO Title For ₹4.88 Lakhs; Vikash Mantri Leads Main Event Final Table, Deepak Raina Leads Final 12 in Bounty Event

Deepak Bothra
  • Profile picture
  • PG News November 13, 2017
  • 3 Minutes Read

It was another action-fueled day at Casino Deltin Royale in Goa and this time, the PLO enthusiasts showed off their skills at the inaugural World Poker Tour (WPT) India ₹20K PLO event that attracted 86 entries. Outlasting them all was Deepak Bothra (cover image) who edged past Vidur Sethi in the heads-up battle to take home the title. Bothra pocketed the top prize of ₹4.88 Lakhs for his finish.

It was a busy day for the tournament staff as running alongside the PLO event were two other events i.e. ₹55K Main Event and the ₹25K Bounty NLH event.

The Main Event is now down to the final nine players who return today to play down to a champion. Leading them all is Vikash Mantri who will start the final day with 2,145,000 in chips. Other notables who made it to the final table include Sunny Vijay (1,865,000), Anil Adiani (1,095,000), Pavan Jain (1,350,000) and Gaurav Chauhan (5,00,000),

Meanwhile, the Bounty NLH event registered 128 entries with 12 players advancing to Day 2. Deepak Raina bagged the overnight chip lead with 367,000 in chips with Eka Vedantham trailing him in second position with 187,000 in chips.


PLO Event

The 2 re-entry option PLO event ensured 86 entries once the late registration period was over and as usual a number of notables were in the fray including Adda52 Celebrity Pro Minissha Lamba, Vineet Kumar, Akshay Shah, Pankaj Kothari, Abhishek Jalan, Devesh Thapar, Akash Malik and Vikram Freeman along with many others.

Some notables who fell short of the money bubble include Devesh Thapar, Pranay, Akash Malik, Madhav Gupta and Rishabh.

The top nine players were ensured to min-cash for ₹65,432 but all eyes were on the top prize of ₹488,000.

Final Table Chip Counts

1. Praveen Tammana – 203,000
2. Vidur Sethi – 178,000
3. Deepak Bothra – 156,000
4. Jasmeet Singh Rihan – 93,000
5. Vikram Kumar – 75,000
6. Minissha Lamba – 75,000
7. Vishal Gajaria – 39,000
8. Akhilesh Vyas – 32,000
9. Abhinav Jain – 21,000


Final Table Recap

Abhinav Jain who started off as the shortest stack was the first one out followed by Vishal Gajaria who busted after open shoving , only to be looked up by Praveen Tammana`s . Gajaria was ahead preflop but his fortunes changed on the board that opened the nut flush for Tammana.

The next to fall from the star-studded final table was Vikram Kumar with Deepak Bothra taking him out. Kumar’s Kx Kx 7x 2x lost to Bothra’s 7x 8x 9x 10x as the latter hit a straight.

Vikram Kumar
Vikram Kumar

Adda52 celebrity pro Minissha Lamba had so far played a solid game and was consistently among the top stacks but she lost a few crucial pots to become short and was eventually relegated to the rails in sixth place. On her last hand of the tournament, Bothra opened and Lamba jammed holding . Bothra made a quick call with and won the pot on the board with a better two pair.

Minissha Lamba
Minissha Lamba

Next to fall was Praveen Tammana who was the chip leader at the start of the final table but with not much going his way, Tammana hit the rails at fifth place.

Praveen Tammana
Praveen Tammana

Jasmeet Singh Rihan then fell in fourth after he announced all-in with and got the call from Akhilesh Vyas who tabled . The board favored Vyas ending Rihan`s dream run in the event.

Jasmeet Singh Rihan
Jasmeet Singh Rihan

Incidentally, Akhilesh Vyas was the next final table casualty with the game now literally becoming a shove fest thanks largely to the increasing blinds. Vyas moved allin with and Vidur Sethi picked up a call with . Shetty hit two pairs on the board to setup the heads-up finale against Deepak Bothra.

Akhilesh Vyas
Akhilesh Vyas

Bothra had a distinct chip advantage over Sethi at the start of the heads-up match and sealed the title in no time. On the last hand of the tournament, Vidur Sethi moved all-in holding and Bothra called off with . Bothra rivered a flush on the board to seal the title!

Deepak Bothra
Deepak Bothra

Final Table Results (INR)

1. Deepak Bothra – ₹4,88,000

2. Vidur Sethi – ₹3,09,000

3. Akhilesh Vyas – ₹2,11,000

4. Jasmeet Singh Rihan – ₹1,63,000

5. Praveen Tammana – ₹1,22,000

6. Minissha Lamba – ₹1,06,000

7. Vikram Kumar – ₹89,000

8. Vishal Gajaria – ₹73,000

9. Abhinav Jain – ₹65,432

Keep following the latest updates from WPT India right here on PokerGuru!

Image and Content Courtesy: www.onlinepokernews.in

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms