Wide Banner 728Wide Banner 728

WSOP Online 2021: Byung “bhy101” Yoo Wins 2021 WSOP Online Event #24: $400 NLH Monster Stack ($77,475)

Byung Yoo wins WSOP Online Event 24
  • Profile picture
  • Namita Ghosh July 26, 2021
  • 2 Minutes Read

The WSOP.com leg of the 2021 WSOP Online Series is on the home stretch now, and the series awarded three bracelets over the weekend. Saturday saw 1,176 players flocking to compete in Event #24: $400 NLH Monster Stack, making for a $423,360 prize pool. It took 12 hours from start to finish, with Byung “bhy101” Yoo (cover image) from New Jersey coming out on top to win $77,474.88 and his first WSOP bracelet.

Yoo had entered the final table as the third shortest stack, a reasonable distance behind the table captain Corey “Corgasm” Paggeot. Despite the disadvantage, Yoo charted a steady climb up the ranks, even as Paggeot continued to add to his lead. By the time the heads-up started, Paggeot was a strong favorite with an over 7-to-1 chip lead. Defying the stiff odds, Yoo got two early double-ups to make a turnaround and eventually won the bracelet.

Byung Yoo has a litany of deep runs dotting his poker resume, with his Hendon Mob profile reflecting $323,208 in life tournament winnings. His career-best score is the $200,324 he won in Event #1: $4,560 NLH at the 2015 Borgata Winter Open.

Event #24 paid out the top 180 places. The payouts list included notables like Carlos “CarlosWelch” Welch (13th for $3,514), Michael “helionic” Dyer (20th for $2,286), Jerod “WhiskeyDeck” Smith (27th for $2,286), Katie “katelin” Lindsay (31st for $1,863), 2020 WSOP Online Event #12 $500 The Big 500 NLH champion and Event #19 fourth-place finisher Ryan “joeyisamush” Depaulo (33rd for $1,863), Daniel “centrfieldr” Lupo (36th for $1,863), two-time bracelet winner Anthony “heheh” Zinno (38th for $1,566), and Harrison “harrisond33” Dobin (62nd for $1,143).

Final Table Chip Counts

  1. Corey “Corgasm” Paggeot – 17,165,103
  2. John “Macallan25” Riordan – 6,606,569
  3. David “Bewater” Goodman – 5,880,338
  4. aerpmh – 4,060,968
  5. Frank “Denzer” Williams III – 3,349,310
  6. Bader “Ib2nyce4u” Haq – 3,334,136
  7. Byung “bhy101” Yoo – 2,906,808
  8. Oliver “yongshi88” Tse – 2,668,808
  9. Joseph “letsplay77” Bruno – 1,067,960

Final Table Recap

Joseph Bruno was booted out in ninth place by John Riordan, whose rivered trip sixes busted the formers king-eight.

Yoo subsequently eliminated Frank Williams III, and Oliver “yongshi88” Tse didn`t take too long joining him at the rail.

The start of the FT chip leader Corey Paggeot then got to work by eliminating John Riordan and David “Bewater” Goodman in sixth and fifth place, respectively. Paggoet spun up to command 50% of the chip in play.

Twenty-eight minutes later, Yoo claimed his second victim on the final table in “aermph.”

The three-handed play continued for an agonizing forty-nine minutes before Bader “Ib2nyce4u” Haq ran his pocket nines into Paggeot’s pocket kings to set up the heads-up match.

Yoo held a paltry 9.5 big blinds at the start of his heads-up showdown against Corey “Corgasm” Paggeot – the latter commanding a monster lead of 69 big blinds. However, two double-ups early on kept Yoo in contention, and it didn’t take him long to turn the tide in his favor. Finally, it was Yoo’s cowboys that won him the bracelet against Paggeot’s ace-deuce.

Byung Yoo wins WSOP Online Event 24
Byung Yoo


Final Table Results (USD)

  1. Byung “bhy101” Yoo – $77,475
  2. Corey “Corgasm” Paggeot – $47,840
  3. Bader “Ib2nyce4u” Haq – $33,996
  4. “aerpmh” – $24,555
  5. David “Bewater” Goodman – $17,866
  6. John “Macallan25” Riordan – $13,166
  7. Oliver “yongshi88” Tse – $9,864
  8. Frank “Denzer” Williams III – $7,451
  9. Joseph “letsplay77” Bruno – $5,715

Content & Images Courtesy: WSOP.com and PokerNews.com

Keep following PokerGuru for more updates from the 2021 WSOP Online Series!

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Top Online Poker Rooms